Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > ActionScript Forums Group > ActionScript 3.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-18-2012, 06:33 PM   #1
FusionFactor
Senior Member
 
FusionFactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 177
Exclamation Embedded font added to input box w/ TERRIBLE QUALITY

I'd just recently purchased a font named Foxley 816. It's a bitmap font, and I'm trying to add it to a small Flash application. I've embedded the font, exported it to ActionScript, and named it Foxley 816. I'm adding the textfields through ActionScript, and the quality sucks. I couldn't figure out why. Immediately, I'd thought it was the font itself. But then I added a textfield directly through the stage.. and it looked completely normal (best quality).

Any help? Thanks!
__________________
FusionFactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 09:59 PM   #2
FusionFactor
Senior Member
 
FusionFactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 177
Default

Here's a visual representation of my issue. The text to the left was added through ActionScript. The other one I used the Text Tool and simply changed the font to Foxley816. Note that these two are the same size.

__________________
FusionFactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 11:32 PM   #3
henke37
Senior Member
 
henke37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 10,679
Send a message via Skype™ to henke37
Default

Did you use the correct font embedding type? The right font variant? The right font size? The right misc settings? Check everything!
__________________
Signature: I wrote a pair of articles about the timeline.
henke37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 03:46 AM   #4
FusionFactor
Senior Member
 
FusionFactor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by henke37 View Post
Did you use the correct font embedding type? The right font variant? The right font size? The right misc settings? Check everything!
I've checked everything. The issue only seems to appear with the letter "s", which is really, really odd.
__________________
FusionFactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 05:33 AM   #5
[afz]snickelfitz
Senior Member
 
[afz]snickelfitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 2,331
Default

is the font size set to 8pt?
[afz]snickelfitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 02:19 AM   #6
Sonny
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 132
Default

Is it something to do with the alias setting for the font ?
Sonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:39 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.