Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > Flash General Questions > Flash 9 General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2008, 01:46 AM   #21
atomic
Banned by AS.org Staff
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 14,073
Default

You're having a very hard time explaining what it is you're asking...
I don't understand what you are now asking...

In your last .fla, you have changed the title from IMAGE TITLE#1 to #16 to Abstract Navajo #1 to #16...

What are you now asking? That you didn't just wanted to change the title keeping the same new title but with a different number on each picture, but wanted a complete new name on each picture?

If so, that poorly coded template wasn't coded to do so...
I suggest you ask the template provider to modify it so that it does what you want...

Last edited by atomic; 06-04-2008 at 01:50 AM.
atomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 02:07 AM   #22
tseyigai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 23
Default

In your last .fla, you have changed the title from IMAGE TITLE#1 to #16 to Abstract Navajo #1 to #16...

***It's frustrating. What I'm saying is that I can't change the IMAGE TITLE#1-16 in any of the pages, except for page 2. After I duplicated area 1.mc and did three others, area 2, 3, 4, this still didn't allow me to have the IMAGE TITLES to work... Make sense?

Man.......I just needed you to work with the fla. how I had said in my earlier post and somehow "create" the right area 2, 3, 4 to go with the page 4, and other pages there.
tseyigai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 02:55 AM   #23
atomic
Banned by AS.org Staff
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 14,073
Default

If you want to be less frustrated, stop using these damn poorly coded templates, which even for me, are almost uneditable!

I see what you've done wrong... And my bad, but I've also misguided you in having creating duplicates of the area1 mc... They're not needed.

What you have done on page 4 and on layer4, is add 3 other instances of the area1 mc... You should remove the added ones and only leave 1 instance of it.
Next, do as on page2, select frame 1 of layer 4 and pressing F6, add a keyframe on each of the 16 frames of layer 4...
Selecting each frame in turn, you will then be able to change the text on the area1 mc, without it changing the other texts on the other frames, since there's now 16 different instances of the area1 mc (1 over each picture), rather than a single instance of the area1 mc over the 16 pitures...

Get what I'm saying?

I've attached what the timeline (layer 4) should look like...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	timeline.gif
Views:	121
Size:	106.6 KB
ID:	27617  
atomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 12:29 PM   #24
tseyigai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 23
Default *That worked.

Ok, atomic that worked. Thanks for the correct thing to do. I can't get rid of the numbers, but that's ok.
*What part of the coding is bad with the template? Is it partly that they didn't create keyframes where needed or is it more than that overall?

thanks,
Tseyigai
tseyigai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 01:21 PM   #25
atomic
Banned by AS.org Staff
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 14,073
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tseyigai View Post
Ok, atomic that worked. Thanks for the correct thing to do. I can't get rid of the numbers, but that's ok.
*What part of the coding is bad with the template? Is it partly that they didn't create keyframes where needed or is it more than that overall?

thanks,
Tseyigai
Grrrrreat!

You can get rid of the numbers by removing the +_parent._currentframe...

tooltip_text = "SOME TEXT HERE";

As for poor code in templates it's overall... I don't think the template was meant to have different names on the pictures in the galleries... Just one title + a picture number... That's why there was just one keyframe and one instance of the area1 mc... The title remains the same and just the number changes according to which picture/frame the mouse is over...
atomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a lot of code and included files fiona ActionScript 2.0 5 01-09-2006 04:18 PM
Why everyone hates (or should hate!) mircosoft stealthelephant General Chat 100 01-07-2005 01:17 PM
Preloading XML and CSS files nytyme ActionScript 2.0 2 11-02-2004 06:39 PM
XML File Corruption?? chrisemersonnc General Chat 11 10-11-2004 12:36 PM
Dynamic Loading of MPEG files baburaj ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 0 01-31-2003 09:30 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:40 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.