Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > ActionScript Forums Group > ActionScript 1.0 (and below)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-30-2002, 12:03 AM   #1
NEONecd999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 120
Arrow Macromedia Flash Player 6? The free player is required to view the website you're...

I've seen some sites that have that (the window that asks you to download the flash player) come up automatically if you don't have flash player 6. How would I be able to do that for my flash? Is it something ActiveX does automatically?

Thanks.
NEONecd999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 01:44 AM   #2
binkyboo
Senior Member
 
binkyboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,312
Send a message via MSN to binkyboo
Default

Maybe they're utilizing the Flash Deployment Kit.

http://www.macromedia.com/software/f...eployment_kit/
binkyboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 06:42 AM   #3
farafiro
Addicted To FLASH
 
farafiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Egyptian in UAE
Posts: 12,436
Send a message via MSN to farafiro Send a message via Yahoo to farafiro
Default

http://www.actionscript.org/forums/s...8713#post88713
__________________
‚€* GOD Is Near ‚€*
Questions Don't PM for Questions . Thanks
An eye for an eye, make the whole world blind
_____________________________________________GHANDI
farafiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 07:46 PM   #4
Clint Critchlow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 104
Default

This message sounds like the ActiveX update page. It is set by the CODEBASE tag in the HTML that Flash publishes (always the current version). It is a the most basic default detection system.
You should use the Macromedia Deployment kit or use Moock's system to build a real detection system.
A real system works for other browsers besides Win IE and you can do more things, like tell the user they need to upgrade and why.
Clint Critchlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 10:16 PM   #5
NEONecd999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 120
Default

Yes, right now i am using moock flash detection, but I thought that a window that pops up would be more conveniant and more encouraging for the user to install flash player 6 than clicking on a link to upgrade that opens a new window at the macromedia download page. But maybe leaving it the way it is, is the best way to go. Thanks everyone for your help.

-Edan
NEONecd999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:27 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.