Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 03-18-2001, 11:44 PM   #1
DEFCONSiEffect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 74
Send a message via AIM to DEFCONSiEffect
Default

i can design well but i have a problem to connect a simple "Enter" button and link it to my "intro" movie clip....can anyone help explain to me the procedures to make this all work together??
DEFCONSiEffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2001, 11:50 PM   #2
mgb
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 245
Default

Is the 'enter' button part of the Flash movie? If so you just need to target the movie clip to play;

Begin tell target ("/mcname")
Go to and Play (2)
End tell target

or;

_root.mcname.gotoand Play(2)

in this case you would have a stop action in the first frame of the movie clip (and maybe no content in that frame if you want to keep it invisible before it plays)

~mgb

[Edited by mgb on 03-18-2001 at 06:56 PM]
mgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2001, 11:56 PM   #3
DEFCONSiEffect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 74
Send a message via AIM to DEFCONSiEffect
Default

lets say the "enter" button is on a separate black page...with the text in the middle ....once the button is released...i want it to play my "intro" movie clip?....when you refer to go to and play (2) ...what does the 2 stand for?? is that the level or the frame number?
DEFCONSiEffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2001, 12:03 AM   #4
DEFCONSiEffect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 74
Send a message via AIM to DEFCONSiEffect
Default

what actionscript do i apply to the "enter" button and what actionscript do i apply to the "intro" scene? i have the movieclip on frame 1 in my movie....and the "enter" button on a separate movie......
DEFCONSiEffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2001, 12:10 AM   #5
mgb
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 245
Default

The '2' refers to a frame. But you are better to make the enter button part of your movie - otherwise you will have to load a new page.

If you make a new scene in your movie and copy the frames in the 'enter' movie (Ctrl+Alt+c) and paste them into the new scene (Ctrl+Alt+v) you can then use the goto action to move into the movie. If you want to keep the 'enter' movie seperate use Get Url and load the page with your movie.

If your enter button is in a seperate part of the movie you can forget about the frame 2 business.

~have you read the tutorials here on paths and targeting?

~mgb
mgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2001, 12:19 AM   #6
DEFCONSiEffect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 74
Send a message via AIM to DEFCONSiEffect
Default

ive read through them and understood them partially....but i feel i can learn faster if i were told step by step....ok ill try to create the "enter" button on the same movie...
i have the enter button on frame 1 and the "intro" movie clip on frame 2 ....
do i apply this to the enter button (frame 1)
tell target.mcname
gotoandplay(2)
end tell target....is this right?
DEFCONSiEffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2001, 12:34 AM   #7
DEFCONSiEffect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 74
Send a message via AIM to DEFCONSiEffect
Default

i kinda figured out ...i created a new layer and place stop actions on frame 1 and 2
on the 2nd layer resides the "enter" button(frame 1) and "intro" movie clip(frame 2)....i used the actionscript you gave me and it worked......but the "intro" is in a loop...how do i make it come to a complete stop.....
DEFCONSiEffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2001, 12:38 AM   #8
DEFCONSiEffect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 74
Send a message via AIM to DEFCONSiEffect
Default

when dealing with multiple movie clips and buttons in one movie...i use tell targets and goto andplay...but when i have multiple movies what kind of actionscripts do i use?? oh yea i completely understand the whole notion on levels but im kinda stuck on scripting
DEFCONSiEffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2001, 12:54 AM   #9
mgb
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 245
Default

If you put a stop action in the first frame of a movie clip and use Go to and Play (2) it will make it play.

~mgb
mgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2001, 12:56 AM   #10
mgb
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 245
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mgb
If you put a stop action in the first frame of a movie clip and use Go to and Play (2) it will make it play. To make the intro stop just use target and "Stop"

~mgb
mgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple External Movie Loading and Stacking Saed ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 6 10-13-2005 02:52 AM
How can I load multiple movie clips and mp3 so that the swf file will work? wlester ActionScript 2.0 0 09-16-2005 09:01 AM
need help please!! need to load a movie and also a movie within the 1st movie miu66 ActionScript 2.0 2 08-03-2004 05:21 PM
Problem With Loading MovieClip Into SUB movie JakeMX Components 2 07-28-2004 10:07 PM
load movie in new window nathang ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 1 09-24-2003 12:47 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:36 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.