Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 04-10-2006, 07:09 PM   #1
beau
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 318
Default EOLAS : SWFs will break in 1 day!

This should really be stickied, because in two days you're going to see a megatonload of posts asking why flash files require you to click on them to activate them now.

The solution: you need to create a remote (or use an existing js file) javascript file to dynamically write the swf file into the page.

This looks like the best solution.
http://blog.deconcept.com/flashobject/

Initially, this was supposed to apply only to IE, but it appears to apply to Mozilla and who knows what else. Once this solution is set up, it'll actually be a lot easier to add flash files to pages.
beau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 02:42 AM   #2
abacajan
Flash Game Enthusiast
 
abacajan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: australia
Posts: 50
Send a message via MSN to abacajan
Default I agree

Yeah i totally agree. the forum will be loaded with questions about the swfs. Good on you for pointing that out to us!
abacajan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 02:31 PM   #3
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

Just to clarify it abit...

Flash will NOT break... IE will add additional click to activate it and it will be making worse user experience... But Flash will run as it should be... In other words, if you have a Flash banner that runs on your site, it will run with no problem... If your banner, however, requires a click to do something(like opening a new site), the user will need to double click it(once to activate, and once to register the action)... Nothing more, nothing less...

and yes, I like FlashObject approach... It's sad that it will not do much if the user does not have JavaScript turned on, but I think it is safe to say that the ratio of such people are not that many...
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 02:58 PM   #4
Xeef
Off-Line
 
Xeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ibiza/Spain language :Hungarian/German/ abit English
Posts: 6,539
Default

Quote:
and yes, I like FlashObject approach... It's sad that it will not do much if the user does not have JavaScript turned on, but I think it is safe to say that the ratio of such people are not that many...
there are even less people whit JS off and F on

in IE you not even can do so (as long i know) either both on or both off
__________________

test your self -->http://www.actionscript.org/forums/s...86&postcount=8
Xeef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 07:05 PM   #5
beau
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 318
Default

Wishful thinking.

I just got the stats from our site's yoda (weather.com) and he said the number of folks who hit our site with JS turned off is 10%!!! The number of people with flash? 98%.

Sure, maybe they shut it off just because weather.com is synonymous with ads, but who would bother to shut off js just to visit a single site? Odd stuff.

And if you're an advertiser, or an ad designer, then, by simple definition, yes, these flash ads will break. The click through rate will plummet because of the teensy number of people who DO click on an ad, that number will drop substantially when they click it once and nothing happens, or they hover over it and a box shows up asking them to activate the file - you're looking at hesitant clients already, hoping they'll MAYBE check out whatever you're peddling. As soon as this crap jumps into the mix, bammo, you've got problems.

But sure, for game developers, or site developers, it's not such a critical problem but I bet your clients will still ask you why there's additional problems with the site now.

Which, to me, means that it's going to be broken. The only people who won't perceive this as "broken" will be people who already know about the issue.

Edit:
Firefox? Problems too.

Last edited by beau; 04-11-2006 at 07:09 PM.
beau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 08:04 PM   #6
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

I do understand what you meant by that but the ads that are provided via major ad providers such as DoubleClick won't get effected because they already use JavaScript to provide the ads...

What sorts of EOLAS related problem do you have with the FireFox??? That's a news to me...
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 01:49 PM   #7
fgf
Registered User
 
fgf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: edinburgh
Posts: 673
Default

how do i get hold of the update? I've actually been trying and can get this problem to occur.

Does MS supply crippled copies of IE to EU users?
does it do it throught the standard windows update?
Will this version ever be supplied for win2k machines?

(tune in next week for the exciting conclusion)
fgf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 05:10 PM   #8
beau
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 318
Default

From what I've read - and it's been from a bunch of different sources so I don't know how much is valid NOW versus how much was speculation 6 months ago, Firefox is also putting objects on a web browser and therefore it also goes against the core of the Eolas Patent. But I could be wrong. I haven't done the patch here.

It's not a crippled copy of IE - it's the way IE should have been set up 10 years ago, so, technically, they're just now getting it right.

Imagine if IE suddenly became W3C compliant, bam, overnight. There would be a million sites that had to reconfigure their sites to work properly. That's sort of what's happening here.

And yeah, 3rd party advertisers are not too impacted by this change, but we serve a ton of ads locally instead of through 3rd party servers, including all the ads that I do. That's about 300 ads right now. We've been scrambling to get this fix set up, I think we're about 80% finished now.
beau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2006, 12:53 AM   #9
timeliner
Registered abUser
 
timeliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 138
Default

Lucky it's a 4 day Easter holiday here, because my clients would have been screaming when they come back to work tomorrow. I found a solution here.

Cheers
__________________
timeliner
timeliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TAB key - onKeyUp function not working. Stuey_B ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 0 03-27-2006 03:53 PM
Help Please with spinners n copying over arrays Arutha Studios ActionScript 2.0 0 02-08-2006 10:08 PM
moving & zooming helix ActionScript 2.0 0 11-28-2005 04:43 PM
Please check out my Switch - I have a problem, I think... O_Oa Dave At ADC ActionScript 2.0 7 09-21-2005 07:51 PM
how can i translate this PHP script to Actionscript? Lupax ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 2 10-15-2002 11:08 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:06 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.