Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 05-14-2006, 09:22 PM   #1
pet-theory
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 25
Default Flex Builder F3 doesn't work

I've installed Flex Builder Beta 3 today. It works fine, exept, the "go to source" (F3) and "open type" functions don't work. If, for instance, I hover over "MovieClip", this is the error message:

The source file cound not be found at C://....globalPlayer.swc.

Anyone else have this problem?

I have autocomplete and compile functionality.


Thanks

matt
pet-theory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 09:23 PM   #2
pet-theory
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 25
Default As3

I should say that I'm in an AS3 project--though I tried to start a Flex project, and F3 doesn't work in there either.

Also, I'm running the standalone Builder in Virtual Pc.

I'm puzzled why Builder would look at a .swc file (isn't that a bunch of compiled components?) to find a source file, perhaps this is the bug? Or perhaps the .swc kicks the search out to the right source file?

A perusal of the FlexSDK and a search of my harddrive reveal no source file: MovieClip or flash.display.MovieClip...have I conceptualized this all wrong?

Last edited by pet-theory; 05-14-2006 at 09:49 PM.
pet-theory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 08:35 AM   #3
hangalot
lala
 
hangalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the road
Posts: 2,858
Default

the moveiclip object is not an as class, and the only source that comes with the builder is the flex sourcecode.
movieclip is a native c++ object embeded in the player (otherwise it would be waaaay to slow)
__________________
oi poloi
http://www.memorphic.com/news/
hangalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 02:43 PM   #4
pet-theory
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 25
Default OK--that makes sense...

because let's say I'm in FlashDevelop, and I use the equivalent "go to source" command on a native object, the file that comes up looks more like an interface definition than a true class (which is useful just the same, it's a quick way to scan for methods).

So I checked, and F3 does work for variables and custom classes...but I guess there are no dummy "source" files yet for native classes in Flex Builder 2? I can live with that...I can just go to Help, though that's slow.

So does that mean everyone has this "bug"? I just want to be sure; when you hit F3 over "MovieClip", the same error message comes up?
pet-theory is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Paths in external swf doesn't work Kiri11 ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 7 12-18-2009 03:55 AM
On the verge of tears: why doesn't this preloader work (Cyan, Billy, Fafie, anybody?) Ericinho ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 5 07-25-2003 06:37 AM
unescaping html oddballs from xml sent from flash to PHP Philip Toews Server-Side Scripting 30 06-01-2003 02:27 AM
Resizing Work Area? binar ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 0 07-10-2002 04:13 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:29 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.