Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 05-26-2006, 10:04 PM   #1
d-woo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60
Send a message via Yahoo to d-woo
Default Dynamic Text not showing up in Movie Clip

I have dynamic text which is coming from a text file.

When the text is input on the _root it displays.

When I use the same action script in a movie the text does not display when I preview it unless I embed the fonts. I can, however, see the text when I do Control>>Test Scene, just not with File>>Publish Preview>>HTML.

What made me decide to embed the fonts (file size went from 100K to 300K) was that my scroll bar was correctly appearing small, indicating that it knew that there was a lot of text to scroll. It saw the text, but did not display it in the browser.

Background Info
-----------------
I am using Flash 8 Pro.
The text is Verdana 11 pt.
The actionscript is
Code:
this.loadVariables("bio.txt");
d-woo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2006, 10:15 PM   #2
darkzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Salinas, California
Posts: 210
Default

Hard to tell what the exact problem is but here are some possible issues:
1) Dynamic text will not show up under a mask unless you embed fonts.
2) Related to #1. Dynamic text will not show up in a scrollpane unless you embed fonts.
darkzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2006, 10:45 PM   #3
selliott
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 99
Default

Here's a dynamic text tutorial that may help: http://www.actionscript.org/tutorial...rs/index.shtml

If you aren't looking for the entire system to update the text file, then here's the code I've used in my flash keyframe before just to bring in the text from the text file (called Ex2TextFile.txt ... in a folder called "public_html")

Code:
loadVarsText = new loadVars();
loadVarsText.load("/public_html/Ex2TextFile.txt", 0);
//assign a function which fires when the data is loaded:
loadVarsText.onLoad = function(success) {
	if (success) {
		trace("done loading");
		//Now that we know the data is loaded,
		//set the text content of the Text Field
		//with the instance name "scroller" equal to the 
		//contents of the variable
		scroller.html = true;
		scroller.htmlText = this.Headlines;
	} else {
		trace("not loaded");
	}
};
Your text file would need to start off with the "Headlines="...like this:

Headlines=yada yada yada
selliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2006, 10:56 PM   #4
d-woo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60
Send a message via Yahoo to d-woo
Default It was under a Mask!

Thanks Selliot.

Thanks Darkzak!

Yep...it was under a mask.

Wow!
d-woo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I load dynamic text from a movie clip? Captain Pin ActionScript 2.0 1 04-08-2006 08:43 PM
Loading Dynamic Text from a Button inside a Move Clip. LoR*Evanescence ActionScript 2.0 3 05-22-2005 08:30 PM
Flash 4 creating an array on screen with duplicate movieclip Eend ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 8 02-18-2005 09:07 PM
Loading dynamics text and pictures into a Movie Clip Angelozzu Simple Stuff (Newbies) 4 11-24-2004 02:56 AM
loading dynamic text via movie clip case ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 3 05-18-2003 11:05 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:27 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.