Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > ActionScript Forums Group > Simple Stuff (Newbies)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-14-2002, 02:36 PM   #1
sreebar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 20
Default loadMovie too slow

Hi,
I'm sure that there is an easy way to do this, but I don't know it. I have my main movie, and I have some buttons which should superimpose little blocks of text when pressed. Each block of text should stay visible until the next button is pressed. I have made different .swf's of each block of text and used the loadmovie command to access them, but there is a disturbing lag time between the pressing of the button and the appearance of text.
There must be a command to allow me to load each block of text on the initial loading, and just call them up when I need them, and have them on a different levels so that they show over top of the main movie. (Is Loadmovie the only command which allows placing things on different levels?)

This one is driving me crazy, so I'd appreciate any response.

Thanks,
sreebar
sreebar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2002, 02:42 PM   #2
Billy T
Oops I did it again
 
Billy T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,579
Default

put all your load movies in the first frame and set visibility of each text level to false

eg

_level5._visible=false;

then when a button is pressed set the visibility of the appropriate layer to true

cheers
__________________
Billy
Online Galleries
iPhone Safety App - iStaySafe
Free Flash Video Tutorials
Photo Website Template

Don't email or PM me questions...
Billy T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2002, 02:43 PM   #3
farafiro
Addicted To FLASH
 
farafiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Egyptian in UAE
Posts: 12,436
Send a message via MSN to farafiro Send a message via Yahoo to farafiro
Default

Post the code u r using
__________________
€* GOD Is Near €*
Questions Don't PM for Questions . Thanks
An eye for an eye, make the whole world blind
_____________________________________________GHANDI
farafiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2002, 05:14 PM   #4
sreebar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 20
Default

Billy T,

I tried what you suggested, but now all the layers are visible all the time (each layer of text shows on top of each other). The following is the first-frame Frame Action:

loadMovieNum ("page1.swf", 1);
_level1_visible=false;

etc. for each level and page number.

And on each button is the script (changing layer # for each button):

on (press) {
_level1_visible=true;
}

Where have I gone wrong?
sreebar
sreebar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2002, 05:17 PM   #5
tg
done
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: portland, or
Posts: 8,106
Default

may just be a typo in your post, but there should be a "." between _level1 and _visible like this
_level1._visible=true;
__________________
tg
---
what the hell was i thinking?
tg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2002, 05:17 PM   #6
sreebar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by farafiro
Post the code u r using
Farafiro,

The code I was using before was simply attached to each button:

on (press) {
loadMovieNum ("page1.swf", 1);
}
sreebar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2002, 05:28 PM   #7
sreebar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tg
may just be a typo in your post, but there should be a "." between _level1 and _visible like this
_level1._visible=true;
Tg,

I corrected the script as per your suggestion, but my problem remains the same.

sreebar
sreebar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2002, 06:04 PM   #8
tg
done
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: portland, or
Posts: 8,106
Default

post your fla. i'll take a look.
or try this:
//based on 4 text boxes
ActionScript Code:
//frame1 for(var i=1;i<5;i++){   loadMovieNum("page"+i+".swf",i);   this["_level"+i]._visible=false; } //when you click a button on(release){   //set levels to not visible   for(var i=1;i<5;i++){     this["_level"+i]._visible=false;   }   //make one of the levels visible depending on which button was pushed... in this case '2'   _level2._visible=true; }
its a bit of a hack... the code could be cleaned up alot... but i'm out of here for now.
__________________
tg
---
what the hell was i thinking?

Last edited by tg; 04-14-2002 at 06:13 PM.
tg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2002, 09:13 PM   #9
pixelwit
village halfwit
 
pixelwit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA, PA
Posts: 3,330
Default

Unless you need your text pre-formatted you could probably use loadVariables(). That way you wouldn't have to worry about levels, lag-time or creating seperate SWF's.

Save each block of text as a seperate variable within a single text file and load that file at the beginning of the movie. On button press load a different variable into a single dynamic text box.

This might also help keep file sizes down since you will only need the font outlines embeded in one dynamic text box rather than including them in each SWF.

Maybe it'll help,

-PiXELWiT
http://www.pixelwit.com
__________________
There are no answers, only choices.

Last edited by pixelwit; 04-14-2002 at 09:20 PM.
pixelwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2002, 09:15 PM   #10
Billy T
Oops I did it again
 
Billy T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,579
Default

yeah every time you click a button you need to the _visible of all the text to false and then just one of them to true

cheers
__________________
Billy
Online Galleries
iPhone Safety App - iStaySafe
Free Flash Video Tutorials
Photo Website Template

Don't email or PM me questions...
Billy T is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
really slow speed on PIII when using ext. swfs FarFeTTu ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 3 10-29-2003 04:23 PM
slow connection curse yorkeylady ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 2 06-01-2003 10:56 AM
loadMovie preventing new properties creation _marabout_ ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 4 04-04-2003 10:00 AM
getting back 2 the movie/image loadMovie loads hangalot ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 5 09-04-2002 09:18 AM
loadmovie is so slow! pdh Other Flash General Questions 3 07-17-2001 08:53 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:38 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.