Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 09-24-2006, 04:32 PM   #1
playingsc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Default Using code in textfile?

I was thinkin, is there a way to make flash use code that's stored in a text file?

I'm tryin to make a .swf that opens a text file from a website and creates everything that the code inside the text file sais. The form is blank, but using the code in the text file, it would make all the buttons and text where they should go.
playingsc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 07:11 PM   #2
Flash Gordon
rather be programming
 
Flash Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 10,140
Default

actionscript must be compiled down. You can't make new code at run time.
__________________
trace("Good bye Flash.") Log.i(TAG, "Hello Droid");
Flash Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 10:45 PM   #3
icktoofay
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 381
Default

i don't think that's true. i could put together an example, but i dont have the time right now
__________________
I am no longer an active ActionScript.org member - sorry!
icktoofay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 10:47 PM   #4
Flash Gordon
rather be programming
 
Flash Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 10,140
Default

you can't do that.....if you gonna disagree and be wrong you at least got to show an example
__________________
trace("Good bye Flash.") Log.i(TAG, "Hello Droid");
Flash Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 11:01 PM   #5
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

Howdy and Welcome...

I'd love to see the example...
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 11:08 PM   #6
Flash Gordon
rather be programming
 
Flash Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 10,140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by me
"I've fallen into the common forum-posting-trap of thinking the biggest smartass is right."
Let me just add that you can modify existing properties and even call functions that has already been defined from a external data file. If that was unclear, sorry. But still, no new actionscript can be made at runtime.
__________________
trace("Good bye Flash.") Log.i(TAG, "Hello Droid");
Flash Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Always get desired FPS in browser jasonoda ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 10 01-06-2011 01:52 PM
stop further code execution in a frame? flam ActionScript 2.0 3 09-04-2006 12:35 PM
help me not duplicate code on Seanx ActionScript 2.0 10 07-19-2006 03:23 PM
Persistant Code Problem CisTrans ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 0 06-11-2006 05:25 AM
code not working jaredly ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 6 06-05-2002 07:56 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:16 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.