Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > Supporting Technologies > Flash Media Server

Old 10-06-2006, 03:58 PM   #1
BradThor

Default Flash Media Server 2... trying to stream a simple video

Hello folks,

This is my first attempt to do anything with Flash Media Server, so please bear with me. I have a simple avi that I want to convert to FLV and then stream the video to a SWF... this is a research project for work, and Im not really having much luck doing even the simplest of streaming, even tho Ive read the documentation and set up the developer version of FMS2... maybe you can help me figure out where Ive gone wrong...

1. I installed Flash Media Server 2 Developer Edition on my local machine.

2. Started both FMS Admin Server and FMS Server. (FMSMaster.exe and FMSAdmin.exe are both running, as shown by Task Manager. Created "TestApp" folder in c:/program files/Macromedia/Flash Media Server 2/applications/ - this is my Application.

3. New Flash Document. File::Import::Import Video. Clicked Browse, found my AVI video, clicked Next. Selected Stream from Flash Communication Server and click Next. Click Next to accept video. Next on Skins. So, now I have an FLVPlayback component on my stage. Which I test and it works. But this isnt what I need... I need this to stream from the server to my player. Onward I go.

4. I copy the FLV file to c:/program files/Macromedia/Flash Media Server 2/applications/TestApp/ and name the FLV "4dvideo1.flv".

5. From the documentation, I see that I need a video component to make this work.. so Im going to start from scratch with the FLA and create a new Flash Document thats 320x240. Create a New Video in my library and call it Video Player. I drag an instance of this video component to the stage, name it "myVideo" make it 320x240 at x=0 and y=0. I paste the following code in Frame 1:

Code:
var my_nc:NetConnection = new NetConnection();