Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > ActionScript Forums Group > Simple Stuff (Newbies)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-23-2006, 07:37 PM   #1
kemosabe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Default wantsta load external movie clip in level1

big newbie to Flash 8, i just want to load a swf on top of another, in a new level. my level0 is called "main.fla". At the keyframe where I want the external movie clip to load, I have this:


//load Movie Behavior
if(this == Number(this)){
loadMovieNum("starbucks01.swf",_this);
} else {
this.loadMovie("starbucks01.swf");
}
//End Behavior


//...which replaces my level0 with starbucks01.swf. grrrr....

i've tried adding "_level1", etc. in the behaviors palette popup, but no dice. any advice for the humblest of newbies? i miss flash 5. sigh...

Last edited by kemosabe; 10-23-2006 at 07:40 PM.
kemosabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 07:39 PM   #2
Flash Gordon
rather be programming
 
Flash Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 10,140
Default

"this" is never just a number. It is actually a usually MovieClip (or an object).
__________________
trace("Good bye Flash.") Log.i(TAG, "Hello Droid");
Flash Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 07:44 PM   #3
kemosabe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Default ???

??? i'm terribly sorry, but how should this code read instead?


//load Movie Behavior
if(this == Number(this)){
loadMovieNum("starbucks01.swf",_this);
} else {
this.loadMovie("starbucks01.swf");
}
//End Behavior
kemosabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 08:48 PM   #4
kemosabe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Default anyone there? help!

i've been all over this board and cant find an answer. could anyone please please pretty please help me?
kemosabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 12:25 AM   #5
anonymous
Banned by AS.org Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,524
Default

loadMovieNum("starbucks01.swf",1);

Will load your movie on level 1...
anonymous is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple External Movie Loading and Stacking Saed ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 6 10-13-2005 02:52 AM
code to Load external movie and jump to frame 2?? curacao ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 5 10-21-2004 01:48 PM
Load move clip into movie clip....? Neutron ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 8 06-25-2003 11:51 PM
Fade in external movie clip? daile Animation and Effects 3 11-17-2002 07:10 AM
Get the load progress of an external swf from main movie Brent ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 1 02-22-2001 10:16 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:49 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.