Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 05-18-2002, 04:47 AM   #1
bplus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Posts: 16
Default complicated problem

hey.
all suggestions welcome.
I have a sticky situation,
I have a site based around a bunch of Classes, I use them as templates - they each load their own type of content based on xml data.
All of these classes are associated with the MovieClip Object, using
Code:
// "Video" as example
VideoContentClass.prototype = new MovieClip();
So a few of these classes use createEmptyMovieClip() to create "holders" that I load dynamic .jpg's into.
My problem is this:
A couple of my Classes use the FUIComboBox component.
They use an attachMovie() to both create an instance, and populate it dynamically.
Say I use my menu to select and load one of the classes that uses the combobox. When I switch back to a class that loads a dynamic image it fails to find it's target movieclip - Flash returns a "target not found" error.

This only happens after switching back from a class that uses the combobox.
If I comment out (and therefore don't attach) a combobox, it all works perfectly.
Whats more, if I put a trace directly in between the createEmptyMovieClip() (to create a holder) call and the loadMovie() (to load the .jpg) call
The movieclip instance is definitely there.
It has been created correctly, but I still get a "target not found" error.

Again this only happens when the combobox is a factor.

What to do?????

I can post full code if anyone wants to see it, I didn't see the point, as I have tested and retested, it IS the combobox that is causing it.
If you've seen the code in that component and all of its subclasses, you'll know what a big bugfix that would be.

I'm really stuck on this, any help is muchly appreciated.
bplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2003, 06:08 PM   #2
dconlin
Registered User
 
dconlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
Default

I have a slightly related problem with comboBox. When I attach a movie clip that has a comboBox in it the comboBox methods don't work. If the same clip is already places on screen it seems ok but attaching it seems to break it. Maybe there is some kind of inheritance issue with the classes.

Did you figure anything out?
dconlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HEEELP!!! cant work out the answer to a problem case ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 1 07-29-2003 11:37 PM
global TextField Problem! Guru wonted mediaholic ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 3 07-20-2003 10:07 AM
Preloader problem with external movies ian27 Simple Stuff (Newbies) 16 04-17-2003 12:06 AM
[Q] Problem with zooming the map and the location/size of the movieclip inside of it. CyanBlue ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 6 01-13-2003 12:13 AM
submit form to formmail problem piper1 ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 1 04-04-2002 03:49 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:28 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.