Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > Flex > Flex 2, 3 & 4

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-14-2006, 08:11 PM   #1
CDHBookingEdge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 383
Send a message via MSN to CDHBookingEdge
Exclamation Flex and CF together questions

Ok I'm having some "start up" problems with CF I guess is one point so any leads there would help. But then I want to make sure I understand what needs to be done to set things up properly so my flex programs that use CF as a data source are ..well set up properly and I can run them. ;-)

So here's my questions I guess at this point.
1) How (or what's the easiest way) to verify that I'm using the CF built in server?
2) How do I attach it and my programs to handle http://localhost properly?
3) What kinds of setup or caveats are necessary to get CF Based flex programs working?

Sorry for these quite basic and in some ways vague questions. I'll admit that my head just isn't wrapping around this part of things properly. And if these questions belong on a more CF based forum or such then my appologies as well. And any names of places to take it would be highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Christopher
CDHBookingEdge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2006, 11:10 PM   #2
meddlingwithfir
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 216
Default

Ooof - #1, I don't know. I've never NOT used the built-in webserver. Always seemed the easiest way to go. I know this probably isn't the "prefered" route, but re-installing CF would probably only take you 10 minutes, and you can make sure that you select to use the built-in webserver.

#2 -- You can either move all your CF projects into the ColdFusion WWWROOT\ directory (C:\CFusionMX\wwwroot\), or set up a mapping in the ColdFusion admin area -- the installation should have handed you a link to that at the end. That CFadmin area is your new best friend You typically don't need to putz around with ANY config files for ColdFusion. That's what makes it so beautiful in my book. All server attributes (almost anyway) can be modified through that CFadmin area.

If you don't want to copy/paste files over, then you need to set up a mapping in the same CFadmin area. You want to set up a logical path of "\", and your directory path to whatever directory you want CF to look for your projects.

#3 -- Just make sure you include the Remoting Components. The install asks you if you want to include these. Click yes Or your life will be much more difficult.


Hope that helps a bit!
meddlingwithfir is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is Flex? Selfminded Flex 2, 3 & 4 11 04-15-2008 06:14 AM
NEW ActionScript 3 XIFF Version - for Flex Builder 2 projects with XMPP nickvelloff ActionScript 3.0 0 09-02-2006 03:12 AM
Localizing Flex Applications log2e Flex 2, 3 & 4 0 04-15-2006 06:37 AM
Question about Flex 2 vistasoul Flex 2, 3 & 4 1 02-28-2006 04:07 AM
Flex loadmovie problem n0rthwood Flex 1 1 01-30-2006 04:01 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:16 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.