Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 01-23-2007, 04:20 PM   #1
Hollywood_Dave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 150
Default Sending Variables with 'getURL'

Howdy, Everyone!

I inserted this code into my banner for a campaign that I am running. The unique URL sends a value.

This is what the code looks like. Pretty darn simple:

on (release) {
getURL("http://www.mywebsite.com/go.php?id=LJCG68", "_blank");
}

Does this seem right to everyone? I wouldn't think there would be any issue with this. The URL works fine, but the values do not seem to be sent properly....
__________________
-----------------------------------
"Show me a man that doesn't know which side his bread is buttered on, and I'll show you a slippery sandwich."

- Unknown
Hollywood_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 05:30 PM   #2
Hollywood_Dave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 150
Default

Nevermind...problem wasn't with the code

Thanks anyway!
__________________
-----------------------------------
"Show me a man that doesn't know which side his bread is buttered on, and I'll show you a slippery sandwich."

- Unknown
Hollywood_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 05:36 PM   #3
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

It'd be great if you could tell us what the problem was...
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 05:56 PM   #4
Hollywood_Dave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 150
Default

Ah....well, what this URL does is sends a unique variable to a webpage so that when people fill out the 'request for information' form, it automatically creates a lead in our database and places it in a unique campaign rather than a generic lead pool.

However....these leads, I learned are only processed every 10 minutes by our server. Thus, the delays I was experiencing caused me to think something was wrong with my code, which there wasn't.

Cheers, everyone!
__________________
-----------------------------------
"Show me a man that doesn't know which side his bread is buttered on, and I'll show you a slippery sandwich."

- Unknown
Hollywood_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 06:35 PM   #5
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

Gotcha... Hope it did not take that long to figure that delay... I know how it can be to my hair...
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 06:39 PM   #6
Hollywood_Dave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 150
Default

Nope. Didn't take long at all. I have dedicated programming resources in India that take care of most of this silliness...but sometimes communication breaks down.

Thanks for the quick response though. It is good to see actionscript.org is still going strong. I have not been back here for a while.
__________________
-----------------------------------
"Show me a man that doesn't know which side his bread is buttered on, and I'll show you a slippery sandwich."

- Unknown
Hollywood_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 06:43 PM   #7
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

Hehe... You've got to come back more often...
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
getUrl shouldn't send all variables cunimartum ActionScript 2.0 4 01-25-2006 01:59 PM
limitation in length for sending variables? betamakz ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 21 07-22-2004 01:15 PM
Passing variables in a URL using getURL() oka_ ActionScript 2.0 2 06-20-2004 11:51 PM
Sending only local variables with loadVariables zymsys Server-Side Scripting 12 04-20-2004 08:00 AM
sending variables locally? alpineedge3 Server-Side Scripting 2 03-27-2004 12:59 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:43 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.