Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 02-21-2007, 07:48 PM   #1
randomblink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Default AMFPHP -> Data-Binding

Alrighty...

I am a server-side guy for now. My development team HAS a Flash / Flex developer. I do PHP and manage the 'framework' for the site.

We are currently running with cairngorm for our Client Side architecture.
We use AMFPHP for our Remoting.

And I am trying to figure out how to provide server-side Data-Binding.

I know enough AS3 to be dangerous, not productive. I actually have seen Data-Binding used on the Client-Side and I think it's great. But then I hear about data-binding to server-sided objects and I wonder "How?"

Does anyone know what needs to be done to allow Flex / Flash to update on the Client-Side with stuff that happens Server-Side ( specifically database updates ).

I have heard terms like Socket Servers and such and I am wondering if I am needing to throw together a PHP Socket Server to keep a connection alive for streaming back and forth AMFPHP data... Can someone enlighten me? Or did I just use terminology that doesn't make sense...?
randomblink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 07:52 PM   #2
randomblink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Before anyone replies with something about "yeah, when flex pushes data to the server, the PHP returns data... that is data-binding"

I understand how AMFPHP works.

BUT it requires the Client-Side to SEND A REQUEST.
From what I understand, there is no way ( currently with OUR setup ) to push data to the Client-Side that wasn't requested from user-or-system commands.

So I am trying to find out what is needed to PUSH data to Flex when Flex hasn't already sent a request for it to the server...

( phew! words hard )
randomblink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 08:03 PM   #3
mooska
fl.mooska._title
 
mooska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: lodz
Posts: 1,211
Send a message via ICQ to mooska Send a message via Skype™ to mooska
Default

You wont make it work with amfphp only (or any other remoting tech) Its like you would like to send something to browser, event if it never asked for it.

Socket servers are made for this purpose, you create tcp connection, and push all the needed data any direction you want (well, two of them ) Nothing more.
__________________
pebkac - problem exists between keyboard and chair

Have something to code ?

asql
mooska is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do get data from data binding llatham ActionScript 2.0 2 08-16-2006 09:49 PM
How exactly does Data Binding work ? Amn Components 0 07-15-2005 03:26 PM
components and data binding problem/question dbonneville Components 0 01-11-2005 04:07 PM
Database simulated with arrays on a cd-rom lecasn5 Components 61 09-07-2004 11:40 AM
Binding AS generated data to a component Oggie Components 3 04-30-2004 01:03 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:33 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.