Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 03-20-2007, 12:27 AM   #1
grouchy

Default xml tree conundrum/problem

Hello Everyone. I am an actionscript amateur and need some help in a problem.

Basically i need to attach a comment to an tree node. so that when the tree node is selected and the user types in some comment in a text area and presses the 'submit comment' button. their comment is saved against a tree node. Thus when a user selects that tree node then their comment is displayed (possibly in that text area).

- I have imported an XML file into flash and used the 'TREE' component to display it.

- I have created a text area - the user would type in some sort of comment in there.

- After comment is written when they press a button ("SUBMIT COMMENT") i need that comment to be saved against a tree node.

- Thus when a user clicks on that tree node their comment is displayed.

Do i need to store the comment as a variable? any help or pointers greatly appreciated.

Many thanks for your efforts.
grouchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 03:43 AM   #2
EdKav1

You can add the comments as properties of the items in the tree. Use getSelectedItem() to get a reference to the item currently selected in the tree.

For example if your TextArea had an instance name of "myTA", your tree "myTree" and your submit button "myButton" you could set up listeners using something like:

ActionScript Code:
//listener object for tree var lo:Object = new Object(); lo.change = function(evtObj:Object):Void{     var itm:Object = myTree.getSelectedItem();     if(itm.savedComment != undefined)         myTA.text = itm.savedComment;     else         myTA.text = ""; } myTree.addEventListener("change",lo); //listener object for submit button var lo2:Object = new Object(); lo2.click = function(evtObj:Object):Void{     var itm:Object = myTree.getSelectedItem();     itm.savedComment = myTA.text; } myButton.addEventListener("click",lo2);