Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > Flash General Questions > Flash 8 General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-18-2007, 09:50 PM   #1
kb1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 26
Default how to make sub menus in Flash 8?

Hello

Been trying to make a flash version of the navigation on our site

http://www.enhancedwireless.net/index.html

Rollover the top horizontal nav = "Products - Company - News - Opps - Tech", I'm trying to make these with their sub menus in my flash file - but have no idea how to do it...I've only got as far as the main buttons, been trying to make the sub menus.

How do I make the sub menus "stay on" when I roll out of the main heading, down to select a sub heading? And then how do I highlight the sub heading when hover, and on click it goes to the correct page? Lots of questions...

Thanks much

KB
Attached Files
File Type: zip HomeTopNav.fla.zip (84.0 KB, 150 views)
kb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 10:11 PM   #2
evride
2006 Man Of The Year
 
evride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 919
Default

make five frames after the main menu, one for each button. in the next five frames put the submenus for the corresponding main menu button. on the main timeline create a layer for just actions. take all other code out. make sure to make an instance name for each button (must be different for each one). now add this code and change for the new button instance names

products.onRollOver = function() {
_root.gotoAndPlay(2);
}
company.onRollOver = function() {
_root.gotoAndPlay(3);
}
news.onRollOver = function() {
_root.gotoAndPlay(4);
}
opportunities.onRollOver = function() {
_root.gotoAndPlay(5);
}
technology.onRollOver = function() {
_root.gotoAndPlay(6);
}
evride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 10:21 PM   #3
kb1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 26
Default

Thanks very much - very helpful. I'm newbie at Flash. I understood the last part of your reply - the first part, I need to understand better - where do I put those 5 frames? Literally one frame to the right of each initial frame on main timeline?

Then when you say, "in the next five frames put the submenus for the corresponding main menu button" - where do I place these frames?

Thank you for your time and the code you gave.

KB
kb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 10:49 PM   #4
evride
2006 Man Of The Year
 
evride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kb1 View Post
the first part, I need to understand better
ya, i'm not really good at explaining things, i'm better at showing but strapped for for time. your main menu was on the first frame, so for the first button put its submenuon frame 2, and for button 2 put the submenu on frame 3, so on and so forth.
evride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 10:52 PM   #5
kb1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 26
Default

Excellent help - thanks much, I would never had known this

kb
kb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 11:04 PM   #6
evride
2006 Man Of The Year
 
evride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 919
Default

whatever, i edited the file for u. u need to make the submenus and change the main menu buttons so there isn't that remaining letter on most of the buttons
view swf
download fla
evride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 11:05 PM   #7
evride
2006 Man Of The Year
 
evride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 919
Default

in the previous code i forgot to add the stop(); statement but it is in the fla file.
just put this at the top of the code.
evride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 11:09 PM   #8
kb1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 26
Default

Very good help - thanks for your time on this.

KB
kb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats best way to make a search app in Flash? sineadhartley Other Flash General Questions 2 07-16-2005 11:19 AM
make Flash respond to a hyperlink in loaded text jerryj ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 3 06-18-2005 06:52 PM
[Q] Do we need those forums??? CyanBlue General Chat 59 07-27-2004 11:13 AM
Macromedia Central CyanBlue ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 13 08-01-2003 09:05 PM
Streaming Flash Player 6 simail Other Flash General Questions 7 04-03-2002 11:14 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:36 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.