Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 08-28-2007, 09:43 AM   #1
claireg
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 23
Default Export movie clip to swf

Does anyone know how or if you can export a movie clip as a swf and save it somewhere on your hard drive/web space?

For example I have an application that has a movie clip of a christmas tree, the user drags various decorations on to the tree.

Is it possible to export the tree then to a swf they can download themselves?
claireg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 12:31 PM   #2
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

I don't think that can be done... You can copy the movieClip into a new FLA and create a SWF file...
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 12:54 PM   #3
xxneon
Super Moderator
 
xxneon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Amish Country, PA
Posts: 8,570
Send a message via ICQ to xxneon Send a message via AIM to xxneon Send a message via MSN to xxneon Send a message via Skype™ to xxneon
Default

is there are way to send BitMapData to a serverside script??..

but that would only save a still shot of the tree though ...

Last edited by xxneon; 08-28-2007 at 01:02 PM.
xxneon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 01:06 PM   #4
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

Sure you can save JPEG via PHP...
http://www.sephiroth.it/tutorials/fl.../print_screen/

You could also use Ming to create SWF in PHP...
http://us.php.net/ming

or PHP Turbine
http://www.blue-pacific.com/products...ne/default.htm

BUT that won't let you make exact copy of a movieClip as SWF unless you have monster brain...
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 01:47 PM   #5
xxneon
Super Moderator
 
xxneon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Amish Country, PA
Posts: 8,570
Send a message via ICQ to xxneon Send a message via AIM to xxneon Send a message via MSN to xxneon Send a message via Skype™ to xxneon
Default

just a thought .. but this might work.. have flash keep track of whats on the tree with x y positions .. type .. and whatever else.. and pass that info to a php script that loads all that data as flashvars to a standalone swf of the tree.. basically re-creating the tree.. and then all thats left is figuring an easy way to have the user save that swf to their computer..
xxneon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 01:49 PM   #6
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

Yeah... That's what I meant by 'monster brain'...
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 01:53 PM   #7
xxneon
Super Moderator
 
xxneon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Amish Country, PA
Posts: 8,570
Send a message via ICQ to xxneon Send a message via AIM to xxneon Send a message via MSN to xxneon Send a message via Skype™ to xxneon
Default

yea after thinking .. the only way to make that work would be to use ming i guess .. so you can hardcode the variables into the swf .. so when you save the swf .. the objects are on the tree..

with using flashvars .. once you save the swf to your computer .. it wouldnt know about the flashvars anymore .. and would just show a bare tree..
xxneon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 01:56 PM   #8
claireg
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 23
Default

Hey everyone,
I guess they wouldn't have to save it to their own machine they could just link to it on mine or something.

I don't know a lot about ming but I will look into it. I'm always up for learning something new!
Thanks!
claireg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
removeMovieClip() not work for components? djandrew Components 30 08-03-2007 04:51 PM
Rollover Sound in a movie clip Shaun ActionScript 2.0 3 08-17-2006 09:40 PM
ADVICE anyone? random movie clip kirayamato ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 1 04-17-2006 07:59 PM
movie clip loader 2.0 freak ActionScript 2.0 1 05-30-2005 03:40 PM
Movement in Duplicating a movie Clip Fishinghat ActionScript 2.0 7 08-24-2004 07:01 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:22 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.