Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 08-04-2002, 06:46 AM   #1
mayam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 179
Default Flash MX site

Hi, im looking for a site which was done/built by Flash MX (a URL).

The system i'm working on is using as frontend Flash 5 - all our clients still use 5 plugin, and we wanna do some testing on flash MX site before we upgrade all our clients's plugin.

Thanks in advance,
Maya.
mayam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2002, 08:45 AM   #2
farafiro
Addicted To FLASH
 
farafiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Egyptian in UAE
Posts: 12,436
Send a message via MSN to farafiro Send a message via Yahoo to farafiro
Default

there are a lotta sites out there now, I think sony is the largest one now
look for it in MM site
__________________
€* GOD Is Near €*
Questions Don't PM for Questions . Thanks
An eye for an eye, make the whole world blind
_____________________________________________GHANDI
farafiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2002, 09:03 AM   #3
mayam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 179
Default

Hi - thanks for replaying.

2 questions:
what's the MM site ? macroMedia?

and on browsing - how can one know if the site is built by MX?
on right click u can only get the version of the plugin the browser is using to present the swf.

i'll look into the sony one - thanks,
Maya.
mayam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2002, 09:19 AM   #4
farafiro
Addicted To FLASH
 
farafiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Egyptian in UAE
Posts: 12,436
Send a message via MSN to farafiro Send a message via Yahoo to farafiro
Default

yes, MM = macromedia

I donno if there is a way telling us that this site is made with flash MX or what.
__________________
€* GOD Is Near €*
Questions Don't PM for Questions . Thanks
An eye for an eye, make the whole world blind
_____________________________________________GHANDI
farafiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2002, 09:26 AM   #5
mayam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 179
Default

thanks farafiro!

:-)
mayam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2002, 07:17 AM   #6
DMX
Registered User
 
DMX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Earth
Posts: 4
Smile how to tell.

if youright click on the swf then you can tell by checking if it says about MMflash player 5 or 6.mostly mx uses 6.
DMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2002, 07:37 AM   #7
mayam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 179
Default

Hi and thanks for replaying !

Right click on the mouse shows what plugin is used in the browser - not the version which created the swf viewed... sorry. :-(

I know one way it's to go into the HTM and look for the code inside the <object> over there it says some stuff about the file - and it mentions over there, but not always this code is in the htm, and then - what's the way to know what version is the SWF created from ?

Thanks again !
Maya.
mayam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2002, 07:58 AM   #8
farafiro
Addicted To FLASH
 
farafiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Egyptian in UAE
Posts: 12,436
Send a message via MSN to farafiro Send a message via Yahoo to farafiro
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mayam
Right click on the mouse shows what plugin is used in the browser - not the version which created the swf viewed... sorry. :-(
yes, u r right.... it's for the Player's version not the version of the Flash.
__________________
€* GOD Is Near €*
Questions Don't PM for Questions . Thanks
An eye for an eye, make the whole world blind
_____________________________________________GHANDI
farafiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2002, 01:46 PM   #9
Abelius
Worldkit Vote Holder
 
Abelius's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Miami - USA
Posts: 816
Send a message via Yahoo to Abelius
Default

Basically, by seeing a page there is no way to say "Oh, this has been made in Flash 5" or in "Flash MX", unless you have some other sources than the browser.

But it is common currency that firms advertise the fact that their sites have been developed using the latest technology on the market, such as Flash MX, .NET or similar...
__________________
Cordially,
Abelius
Commuting between Birmingham, AL, Miami, FL and Beijing, China
http://www.worldkit.com
Abelius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2002, 02:18 PM   #10
mayam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 179
Default

thanks!

and here is another question:

can flash connect directly to DB? using XML socket or any other way? (not through asp, COM...)

thanks,
Maya.
mayam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:19 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.