Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 09-01-2007, 12:55 AM   #1
Limdallion

Default Could my game design be developed in Flash?

So after hundreds of pages of design documentation and concept art, I'm just about ready to actually begin developing this little game project with a small team.

First of all, let me point out that I'm not a Flash developer. I dabbled a little bit in it years ago. I never really considered flash as a viable option for this game project. But last night I was discussing the idea with a friend, and he suggested something to me that I had previously not thought about - it could be doable in Flash. I was skeptical at first, but he pointed out several very useful advantages that Flash affords.

* Web-based. No messy downloads and installations. Much easier and safer to simply play through a browser.

* Easy updates. If I want to make changes to the game, or improved versions, I can make them on my end since it is web-based. This sort of game will likely require a lot of retroactive tinkering, so this is good.

* Cheap and easy development. He tells me there are lots of people experienced in flash programming and if I wanted to I might simply be able to spend a few thousand dollars to have it developed since the blueprints are detailed enough.

Of course, you're going to need to know what my game is like to help me with this. It's a turn-based RPG, pretty much along the lines of Final Fantasy 7. Except it will be 2D instead of 3D (for the most part, read on). The backgrounds are pre-rendered and static and so are the sprites. Now, if it's possible, I would like to have a simple invisible 3D mesh grid to automatically scale the size of sprites and handle lighting - but I am not married to this idea.