Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 09-25-2007, 12:10 PM   #1
dgstarr

Default TypeError: Error #2007: Parameter listener must be non-null.

I am new to ActionScript and have decided that if I am going to learn it, I am going to learn the latest version. I have created an EventListener that calls a function - simple enough. However, I need to pass a value to the function and whenever I do that, I get the following error:

TypeError: Error #2007: Parameter listener must be non-null.
at flash.events::EventDispatcher/addEventListener()
at site_fla::MainTimeline/site_fla::frame1()

If I trace the value, it exists and is getting passed so I'm not sure what this error means. All I know is that when I remove the value and pass nothing, the error goes away.

Somebody please help me! I've got a client breathing down my neck for a site that, at the moment, I cannot complete!!!
dgstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 02:14 PM   #2
Tiemen Glastra

Send a message via Skype™ to Tiemen Glastra

It would help a great deal if you post the code itself, so people can easily identify what's wrong. My guess is, judging by the error code, that you are passing a parameter as listener function that is not actually a function. Like

ActionScript Code:
// here, clickHandler() should be just clickHandler, or else you get  the same error... the handler does not return any value. my_btn.addEventListener( MouseEvent.MOUSE_DOWN, clickHandler() ); var clickHandler: Function = function( event: MouseEvent ): void {     trace( 'Click event received from', event.currentTarget ); }

Hope that helps...
Tiemen Glastra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 08:36 AM   #3
flashkiddy

Default same error...

I also get the same error.... :

TypeError: Error #2007: Parameter type must be non-null.
at pages::MyProfile/initListeners()
at pages::MyProfile()

here is my code

ActionScript Code: