Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > Extensions and Plugins > Components

Old 11-12-2007, 03:57 PM   #1

Default How to add parameters to component built from scratch

Hi, I'm new to Flash 9 and I don't know how to add parameters to a Flash 9 component (one I created not extending UIComponent) via the Component Definition dialog box when my component uses a class file.

The second I enter a class path for the component, it wipes out any created variables. I'm trying to create a simple label component that's not based on the fl.core.UIComponent class. I just want to see what's the simplest component I can create.

All I want the component to do is display a colored background with a text field on top whose value I can change from the inspector. It doesn't need to resize, change state or anything. I figured I could do this without the overhead of the UIComponent, more as a learning exercise, but I've had no luck and would appreciate any help.

Or, am I getting this all wrong. Is it that when you have a class associated with a component, any variables must be created in the class file and then they'll magically appear in the component parameters inspector. (I assume if I were basing this on UIComponent, I could take advantage of the Inspectable metadata structure, but I suspect I don't have that route.)

In Jeff Kamerer's tutorial, he says you have to add the path to the UIComponent class to the document settings, but since I'm not extending this class, it doesn't make sense to me to do this.

Admittedly, I really should just extend the existing label component, but my experience from Flash 6 is that any component I made was way faster than the pre-built components.

Thanks,

Jennifer

PS I'd also like to know how I can reference a parameter added through the component definition dialog box. Is it the same as a parameter declared in the
petkusj@virtualight.com is offline   Reply With Quote