Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 12-19-2007, 06:16 PM   #1
davekaplan
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 89
Default Quality Assurance?

I'm a solo-freelancer (mainly a designer-flash programmer) and starting to do more progamming, mainly in Flash. I'd like to hear about best practices or approaches for good Quality Assurance.

I'd like to hear about your approach to QA'in a website. Do you do it yourself on a bunch of PCs in your office? Hire a company or freelance-contractor to test and log defects?

I work on an MacBook Pro in 10.4.10, I've got Visa running with Parallels. Love the Mac with the Intel inside, but I feel like having a dedicated 'basic' setup on a PC is going to be a requirement if I plan to do more sites that are dynamic.

It used to be I'd build a site in Flash, publish it and be almost guaranteed the same experience across browsers/platforms if the user had the Flash Player plugin. (except when fps and fonts come into play mac vs pc -- oh remember those days?) Should it matter what kind of content is loading, xml, html, flv, swfs?

- my latest experience -
The latest site is almost totally finished, the design company I built the site for has been pretty happy and the client, a restauranter, was well pleased. Except when he visits the site on the PC at the restaurant where he experiences a bug, some content doesn't load. Frustrating!! I can't really tell to much about what his setup is other than PC/IE -- I may have to email him directly to find out exactly what he's got there... not even sure if I can tell me and of course, he's a busy guy... i'm sure he doesn't want to be bothered with my crazy tech questions. I guess it could have been the webhost... but then why would some content load and other content not, hmmmm-arrrh!

I'd appreciate any advice you can offer. I'm curious for any stories or solutions you have for problems like this one. I also posted this on Kirupa, sorry if offend double-site-posting etiquette.

Thanks,
Dave
davekaplan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 01:49 PM   #2
RichardG
Freelance web developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 21
Question

I've never had any cross browser issues with Flash. The main problems have been with the user having an earlier version of flash, a firewall that blocks stuff I'm loading from other sites and slow internet connections.

I normally send my apps out to a group of friends to QA and look for problems. I do the same for them in return. I've found printing trace messages to a debug textfield in my Flash Apps has been a good way of getting more detail from someone when I've not been able to duplicate their problem.
RichardG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Parent swf Embedded Quality ..... goo13 Other Flash General Questions 2 12-12-2005 03:11 PM
Two quality streams from same webcam Egglar Flash Media Server 1 03-26-2005 07:48 PM
Can 2 swfs co-exist with different quality settings? shorudan ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 5 03-14-2004 08:28 PM
How to toggle quality for specific movieclips only? shorudan Simple Stuff (Newbies) 1 03-09-2004 04:46 AM
FMX-preserving the quality of jpg's in new movie akashockwave ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 1 08-07-2003 01:17 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:49 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.