Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 09-10-2002, 01:55 PM   #1
Squills
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 19
Default launching new windows

Is it possible to click on a thumbnail image within my flash movie which launches a full-size image in a new blank window, without having to embed the large image into a new HTML page?

It'd be alright if there was only one image but if there were 100....

Thx.
Squills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2002, 02:56 PM   #2
Jesse
ActionScript.org Founder
 
Jesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 8,736
Default

That really comes down to the end-usere's file associations. Most ppl running IE or a recent edition of Netscape would end up seeing the image within IE so it wouldn't be a problem but there's not really any way of enforcing it it. Why not just load the images into Flash on the fly? (That assumes you're using MX and the images are JPGs ... which they'd kinda have to be to load in IE and NS)
__________________
Cheers

Jesse Stratford
ActionScript.org Cofounder

Please don't email or PM me Flash questions, that's what the Forums are for!

Please don't rely on me reading my PMs either. Email me about important stuff.
Jesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2002, 03:25 PM   #3
Squills
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 19
Default

Unfortunately I'm using Flash 5 and my coding ability is fairly basic.

I wondered if I could launch a new window containing a placeholder flash movie which contains each image as individual movie clips. Then somehow pass a value between the movie containing the original thumbnail and the new movie to say which movie clip to display...confused? I am!
Squills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2002, 05:09 AM   #4
Jesse
ActionScript.org Founder
 
Jesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 8,736
Default

See the passing variables around tutorial. You can launch your new window and pass it a variable with the name of the SWF to load (assuming it's a PHP or ASP or similar file).
__________________
Cheers

Jesse Stratford
ActionScript.org Cofounder

Please don't email or PM me Flash questions, that's what the Forums are for!

Please don't rely on me reading my PMs either. Email me about important stuff.
Jesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:09 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.