Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > Desktop, Mobile and non-browser Environments > Projectors and CDs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2001, 08:52 AM   #1
clarkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Dublin
Posts: 3
Unhappy

Hi Guys and Gals.

I am having a problem with the Print command and the fact that it seems to
produce different sixed print results when the SWF is run by itself and when
loaded from an already running projector.

Basically this problem is this:
I have set up the individual frames in seperate movie elements with a #b
frame for bounding and a #p frame containing the material for print.

These frames are targeted for print from another movie element using:
on (press) {
print ("printcvr", "bmovie");
}
where printcvr is the name of the movie element.

This all works fine when I export the SWF and run it in as a player. The
print frames pick up the bounding from the #b frame.

However the full package consists of 8 linked swfs.
1. Intro SWF - this is converted to a Projector and runs full screen
(Fullscreen, noscale)
2. Loads a nagivation SWF which contains the links to the 6 other swfs and
loads in place of the intro. This nagiavtion contains links to the
individual swfs which are loaded using.
on (press) {
loadMovieNum ("coilin.swf", 0);
}

3. Once any of the Swfs containing the movie elements above are called and
the print button is then pressed within these swfs the print frame prints
mini in the center of the screen, it seems to ignore the bounding.


I have hosted the swf files if you want to take a look.
http://www.geocities.com/sc532j/example.zip
(321Kb)
Run the file Six.exe
From the nagiavtion option choose Robbie O'Halloran.
Go to Artist CV
Choose Print
and voila.


Is it to do with the levels and how the other swfs are loaded?

The only workaround is to greatly exaggerate the scale in the print frames
so it prints at a normal size, but this seems to be a trial and error
process and will take ages. The package is for delivery on CD-Rom.

Any help very gratefully appreciated. The project is almost finished except
for this blasted thing!!!

Shane

clarkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 09:41 AM   #2
sabines
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: germany
Posts: 6
Default

hi clarkie,
seems like none could help with your problem, i'm stuck with the same question now.
figured a way out yet?
sabines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 09:57 AM   #3
Rupert
Registered User
 
Rupert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 617
Default

Hi, I missed seeing the original post first time round. I remember having a similar thing on a postscript printer last year and it turned out to be a printer driver thing and not anything to do with my file. Have you both looked into the possiblity that it is being caused by something like that?

Cheers,
Rupert
Rupert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 10:25 AM   #4
sabines
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: germany
Posts: 6
Default

well, i tried it with diffeerent printers and computers, also non-postscript, and this has to work with standard settings.
i went for the scaling solution so far, not very elegant, but it works.
sabines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 12:33 PM   #5
clarkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Dublin
Posts: 3
Thumbs up

Hi Guys.

See next Post.

Shane
clarkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 12:33 PM   #6
clarkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Dublin
Posts: 3
Thumbs up

Hi Guys.

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you. Basically the problem is a bug and the workaround which I worked out (before I realized this was a bug) and posted on the Macromedia forum, became the Tech note (funnily enough).

The Tech Note is
http://www.macromedia.com/support/fl...cale_print.htm

You should be able to use this insted of scaling to get 100% quality. Macromedia do not seem to have fixed this yet.

Let me know if any Q's.

Regards,
Shane
clarkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 02:17 PM   #7
sabines
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: germany
Posts: 6
Default

thanks a lot, that post really helped.
sabines is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
goto frame and test scene flash (5) bug subx ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 1 04-24-2002 01:43 PM
Playing an MC in one frame from another frame. Marigold ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 4 11-12-2001 12:40 AM
Dynamically giving a frame a label curmudgeon42 ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 3 08-09-2001 09:57 AM
Loading problem C00L Other Flash General Questions 7 03-13-2001 07:28 PM
Print just one frame in all printable movie vantran ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 1 12-21-2000 06:20 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:31 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.