Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 03-08-2008, 08:35 AM   #1
arkum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 321
Default Anatomy of a Flexbuilder Project

Hi,

Started playing with Flexbuilder 3 recently and having looked at the project stucture I am a little confused.

I have 4 folders - bin-debug, html-template, libs and src.

It would seem logical to me that any classes I import or create from within the project would be placed in src and wouldn't need to be copied over to bin-debug when I publish, but it seems that classes I import are placed in bin-debug, while classes I create are placed in src.

Why does flexbuilder place class files in bin-debug (and also bin-release) when they have already been compiled and serve no further purpose. Surely bin-debug / bin-release are intended as ready to deploy?

thanks.
arkum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 04:57 PM   #2
dr_zeus
Feathers
 
dr_zeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,999
Default

There's a project setting called "Copy non-embedded files to folder". Uncheck that option and your classes won't be copied.
__________________
Josh Tynjala | Feathers
dr_zeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 05:27 PM   #3
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

What's the purpose of that setting, just out of curiosity???
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 06:54 PM   #4
Ping
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Default

You can found detailed explaination in Adobe's Online Help. Check the link below, I've marked the topic for you.
Flex Project Setting
Ping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 09:44 PM   #5
dr_zeus
Feathers
 
dr_zeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,999
Default

Basically, it's for copying images and other assets that are loaded at runtime to the output folder.

I dig the feature, but not the way it's been implemented in Flex Builder. It's very rare that I want every file copied. In Visual Studio, you actually have the ability to configure the copy settings for each individual file. While it might be a pain if you have many files to copy, I think it's better than also getting a bunch of files you don't want.
__________________
Josh Tynjala | Feathers
dr_zeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 12:28 PM   #6
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

That sure sounds like a good feature, but why would that copy the class files??? (I know I should have asked this in the first place... )
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 05:51 PM   #7
dr_zeus
Feathers
 
dr_zeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,999
Default

Because it is poorly implemented. I almost always turn this feature off because it's not very useful when it copies files I don't need.
__________________
Josh Tynjala | Feathers
dr_zeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 06:05 PM   #8
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

Makes much sense...
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CMS Project: ActionScript2-PHP-MySQL-XML Experienced Support Required drallstars Projects and Positions 0 06-29-2007 12:35 PM
Can FlexBuilder automatically clean an project before building it? Oscar07 Flex 2, 3 & 4 1 06-04-2007 02:32 PM
Importing flex project into flash project in flex builder 2 devboy Flex 2, 3 & 4 1 05-14-2007 10:28 AM
Project Fallen Heroes jor133d General Chat 1 08-22-2006 02:10 AM
[Flex Builder 2] Adding Project References doesn't affect classpath? astgtciv Flex 2, 3 & 4 8 08-11-2006 10:57 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:49 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.