Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > ActionScript Forums Group > Simple Stuff (Newbies)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2008, 05:38 AM   #1
aronfre
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Default Problem with creating drop down menu!

Hello,

I am working with a flash website built out of a flash template, the complexity of the template exceeds my flash skills I have now encountered a problem with my menu.

My menu consists of six animations(menu buttons), on rollover of each of the menu buttons an animation starts and in the same way the animation ends on rollout, my problem is to make a new clickable button appear under one of the menu buttons on rollover. Well, I have tried and I can for example make a button appear under the first one of the menu buttons on rollover, but the button itself won't react on rollover as a normal button and therefore i can't make a link out of it.

Each of the menu buttons is originally linked to a page on-release but I am in need of more space and therefore have to fill out with drop down alternatives.

I am not really into actionscripting, please someone help me!!
Attached Files
File Type: zip Help.zip (56.6 KB, 120 views)
aronfre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 06:17 AM   #2
atomic
Banned by AS.org Staff
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 14,073
Default

The button handlers (rollOver, rollOut...) on the parent movie clip (one for example) are overriding nested buttons' actions...
Don't nest your added button in the parent mc, but make it a seperate mc, which becomes visible when the one mc is rolled over...
atomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 10:19 AM   #3
aronfre
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Default Example

Thx for your respond but I would really appreciate a viewable example, have been stuck with this for some time now and my flash knowledge is just to poor

Last edited by aronfre; 05-07-2008 at 10:55 AM.
aronfre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 01:52 PM   #4
atomic
Banned by AS.org Staff
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 14,073
Default

If I can find a few minutes, I'll try to come up with an example... No promises though!
atomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 05:47 PM   #5
aronfre
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Ok, I would really appreciate it!
aronfre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with a drop down menu eyesburn Flash 9 General Questions 2 02-15-2008 09:25 PM
Flash and HTML drop down menu problem Halucina Djinn HTML and JavaScript 1 11-06-2006 09:28 PM
Problem creating a draggable navigation menu with dynamic buttons hzahid777 ActionScript 2.0 0 07-05-2005 12:03 PM
Using buttons of Flash to cause js drop down menu to work dev4life HTML and JavaScript 1 07-04-2005 11:40 AM
Drop Down Menu problem fredhaas ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 2 09-14-2004 04:10 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:35 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.