Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > Flash General Questions > Other Flash General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-15-2002, 02:14 AM   #1
rockjock04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sucky Ohio
Posts: 37
Angry how do I make movie clips invisible on load?

I had this going before but I forget now, and I'm up real late and its really pissing me off.

Lets say I have a box and I dont want it to be seen when the movie starts. I name its symbol box and its instance name box1

I have frame actions box up and I double click "evaluate" and then choose box1 from the target browse function.

immediately after _root.box1 I insert _visible=false;

so it says

_root.stick_visible=false;


But when I preview my movie it isn't working. HELP!!! Its eating my up.
rockjock04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2002, 02:35 AM   #2
buzza_gts
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 39
Default

I find it best if you make your object a movie clip and inside that movie clip the first frame is empty with a Stop(); action inside it.

When you want this object to be seen you can just instruct the movie clip to gotoAndStop (2);

hope this makes sense
buzza_gts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2002, 02:16 PM   #3
20 Ton Squirrel
Risu Oyabun!
 
20 Ton Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,460
Default

Buzza's suggestion is a good one for a non-script way of hiding clips. It's also a great way to keep backwards compatibility if yer publishing down to things like *shudder* F4.

The movieclip object does indeed have a _visible property that works like a dream. To get it to work all you'd need to do is something like:

_root.stick._visible = false;


Without that period there it treats your statement as a variable assignment:

_root.stick_visible = false;
20 Ton Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2002, 12:31 AM   #4
nic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 248
Default If that doesn't work

maybe the instance of "stick" mC is not actually in the timeline, by the time you go _root.stick._visible=false;

check your load order (publish settings/ load order: "top to bottom"?) maybe::
nic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:45 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.