Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 06-03-2008, 04:51 PM   #11
atomic
Banned by AS.org Staff
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 14,073
Default

Ok...

In the Library, in the page, page_animals, page_people, page2, & page4 movie clips... Usually on layer 4 (except for page2 where it's on layer 6), the area1 movie clip, you'll find this script...

onClipEvent(load) {
tooltip_text = "IMAGE TITLE " + _parent._currentframe;
}

atomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 05:04 PM   #12
tseyigai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 23
Default re--Can't find the script there...

Man I've looked there but can't find the code.

OK, so finally I did find it...thanks for your help. I kept looking in the timeline, but then clicked on the image (right click) and there was the code....I guess I'll just change the code for each pic I want to use. Again thanks atomic and please know that I didn't mean to come across arrogant, I simply was trying to explain myself more clearly and was slightly frustrated because I thought you didn't understand my questions. Oh well....

Tseyigai

Last edited by tseyigai; 06-03-2008 at 05:16 PM.
tseyigai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 05:24 PM   #13
atomic
Banned by AS.org Staff
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 14,073
Default

Grrreat!
atomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 05:47 PM   #14
tseyigai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 23
Default

One slight problem. All of the code within page 2 is fine, but when attempting to edit each picture within the other movie clips, each code changes and they all end up having the same informaition. In other words the "New Abstract" should be something else for each picture, but when I change it, it goes back to "New Abstract."

onClipEvent(load) {
tooltip_text = "New Abstract"+_parent._currentframe;
}

onClipEvent(load) {
tooltip_text = "New Abstract"+_parent._currentframe;
}



onClipEvent(load) {
tooltip_text = "New Abstract"+_parent._currentframe;
}
tseyigai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 06:02 PM   #15
atomic
Banned by AS.org Staff
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 14,073
Default

You need to duplicate the area1 mc, and change it for the new duplicated mc in all other pages... Otherwise editing one instance of the area1 movie clip, all changes will be reflected in all used instances of that movie clip... You need to duplicate it as many times as needed, replace it with the duplicates in each pages, and then edit the script of that duplicated instance only...
atomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 06:11 PM   #16
tseyigai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 23
Default re

You said: duplicate the area1 mc, and change it for the new duplicated mc in all other pages...
I duplicated the area 1 mc three times and now there are four of them. However, they are editable. I guess I don't get it ....You may have to do a screen shot or give me a little more details...I'm sometimes slow at getting this.
tseyigai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 06:21 PM   #17
atomic
Banned by AS.org Staff
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 14,073
Default

What do you mean by However, they are editable?

Supposing you leave area1 mc in page 1, you should replace the area1 mc in page 2 with one of the duplicated clips such as area2 (don't know how you've renamed them), replace the area1 mc with the area3 mc in page 3, etc...

Once that's done, you can then edit the text title in the area1 mc for page 1, edit the text title in the area2 mc for page 2, etc...
atomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 06:39 PM   #18
tseyigai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 23
Default re

In page 4 there are 4 layers: people Layer 1....., people Layer 1, Layer 4, and Layer 6. area 1 mc is NOT in the file there. That's part of what I don't get. Does that make sense? Unless I move area 1 mc and copy to that folder/file.

Arghhhhhh..
tseyigai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 06:58 PM   #19
atomic
Banned by AS.org Staff
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 14,073
Default

No offense, but you've obviously poorly edited this already poorly coded template...
The area1 mc is in the page4 mc on layer 4... At least in your attached .fla.
If you hide all layers and then show layer 4, you'll see the clip.
atomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 07:20 PM   #20
tseyigai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 23
Default This should be the last time.

Ok so, I did find it, but even after doing the duplicates, it seems that each pic reverts back to the original name. If you don't mind, this should be the last of it. Ive' attached a new zip and "if" you would just go through Page 4 and use the area 1 file which is there at the top and just name "anything to those in there, I would be content. If you'll notice, there is page 2, page 3, and page 4 in the library. I tried swapping the symbols and use page 2 instead in page_people, but again,it was the same ol` issue.
*If you do, then I'll leave ya alone; given that the area1, 2, 3, 4 will work accordingly.

thanks... for all your help

*Delete the old file:

http://www.angelfire.com/in/HansonArtGallery/main5.zip
tseyigai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a lot of code and included files fiona ActionScript 2.0 5 01-09-2006 04:18 PM
Why everyone hates (or should hate!) mircosoft stealthelephant General Chat 100 01-07-2005 01:17 PM
Preloading XML and CSS files nytyme ActionScript 2.0 2 11-02-2004 06:39 PM
XML File Corruption?? chrisemersonnc General Chat 11 10-11-2004 12:36 PM
Dynamic Loading of MPEG files baburaj ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 0 01-31-2003 09:30 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:24 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.