Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > General > Gaming and Game Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-14-2008, 05:32 AM   #1
gentrinity
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 61
Default [AS3] need to convert game to AS3

Hello everybody, I started this thread because I am in urgent need of someone that knows AS3. This project is due in 8 hours and I still have to get 2 XML apps running. I didnt leave things for last minute, its a combination of not knowing what I was getting into and having an already difficult deadline to begin with. I will explain what my situation is;

My client wants me to make a drawing application that can be exported to your HD or a Server. That is running lovely, however, the run lovely seperately. The game is in AS2(which is what I know) and the JPEG exporter is in AS3(which I dont know).

From what I read, there seems to be a cumbersome method to use LocalConnection or something to communicate between the 2 movies in different AS versions, however, I am not sure this is the way to go, I have never used LocalConnection so I dont know if spending time on it will reap the fruits of labor, Im in a huge hurry and I dont want to learn something that might end up not working.

So my only option is to convert my drawing application to AS3, this is proving rather difficult, 5 minutes in and I already have my first problem and the compiler is giving me errors.

What I would like is to exchange MSN or whatever contacts with someone here in these forums that has enough experience converting AS2 to AS3 to be a guide. I dont plan on making you do the work, I just need someone who can quickly provide answers as soon as I have a problem instead of having to scour the internet everytime I get stuck.

Please send me a PM, if you help me out, I will be endebted and can repay monetarilly or with coding services or whatever. Just please help me, im desperate.

Thank you very much for your time and I hope to hear from you soon.

Last edited by gentrinity; 07-14-2008 at 07:59 AM. Reason: Updated work
gentrinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 07:59 AM   #2
gentrinity
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 61
Default

**************
Update 3:52 AM
**************
I just finished the migration, when I export, the debugger doesnt throw any errors, however, when I play around, nothing works as should and I get some errors. This was expected of course, but progress has been made. I have one question that maybe someone can answer for me real quick. I have declared a function that is to be used for an addEventListener, I seem to have to pass it the parameter "event:Event". I do, but then I use this function in other cases that are not addEventListeners, its asking for a parameter, what should I do?
gentrinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 08:26 AM   #3
Flash Gordon
rather be programming
 
Flash Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 10,140
Default

ActionScript Code:
protected function myFun(event:Event=null):void { }
__________________
trace("Good bye Flash.") Log.i(TAG, "Hello Droid");
Flash Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 08:30 AM   #4
gentrinity
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 61
Default

Thank you very much, if you have a link or you yourself could please explain what exactly is going on there, I would appreciate it.
gentrinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 08:34 AM   #5
gentrinity
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 61
Default

**************
Update 4:28 AM
**************

I am starting to work out some of the kinks and Im starting to get some functionality working. I need help with this one thing.

MouseEvent.MOUSE_MOVE does not seem to have the same functionality as in AS2, where it could basically animate and I could attach a mouse cursor, it seems that I need to use ENTER_FRAME. Does the MOUSE_MOVE require something im not adding because it isnt really animating, it just updates randomly it seems. Do I need something like updateAfterEvent? If so, how would I go about implementing it? Thanks again!!
gentrinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 08:56 AM   #6
lordofduct
Senior Member
 
lordofduct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 3,872
Default

MOUSE_MOVE only fires when the mouse moves and is over the DisplayObject that the event is registered to.
__________________
www.lordofduct.com - come read my blog!

If you want to know how to program, take a math class, take a lot of math classes!
lordofduct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 08:59 AM   #7
gentrinity
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordofduct View Post
MOUSE_MOVE only fires when the mouse moves and is over the DisplayObject that the event is registered to.

I see, thank you, so would I need ENTER_FRAME exclusively for this then?

Would you be kind enough to exchange MSN contacts or something, I could REALLY use some help, again, I would be in your debt and can work something out after I get this done.
gentrinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 09:20 AM   #8
gentrinity
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 61
Default

**************
Update 6:20 AM
**************
I fixed this problem...

apparently AS3 does the setMask as follows;

myMC.mask = myMC2;

I had it like this;

myMC.mask(myMC2);

AS3 couldnt explain it to me.

Last edited by gentrinity; 07-14-2008 at 10:25 AM.
gentrinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 12:48 PM   #9
gentrinity
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 61
Default

**************
Update 6:20 AM
**************

I managed to get the drawing functions to work. I can now draw on the canvas and as soon as I was able to do that I implimented the JPEG exporter and its working. So thats great, however, there are a lot of things that are still wrong so I would still appreciate some help, ill update in a little while explaining my latest needs.
gentrinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 06:11 PM   #10
gentrinity
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 61
Default

I could still really use someones help, if you can contact me via MSN, I would appreciate it inmensely.
gentrinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tutorial Request: AS3 OOP Game using MVC design pattern Billy T Gaming and Game Development 5 10-09-2009 08:36 AM
how do I convert this AS2 to AS3 Tillthen ActionScript 3.0 2 02-13-2008 12:44 PM
[AS2] Creating game looking for Code help kunoichi84 Gaming and Game Development 5 11-30-2005 01:55 PM
[AS1] Adding Money to game Fhit Gaming and Game Development 0 02-17-2005 01:50 PM
[AS1] game Script asap please Zenith Gaming and Game Development 2 01-30-2004 03:13 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:27 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.