Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > Flash General Questions > Flash 9 General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-23-2008, 07:03 PM   #1
sliilvia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 13
Default Help making (PNG) Images Into Buttons.

Hi all, I am very new to using flash and I'd like to use some icons (PNG) I have to insert into my flash in the form of buttons.

Could anyone point me in the direction of an understandable tutorial or perhaps give me some help?

I've imported the graphic and then converted into a button, I have then assigned the over/hit etc properties and then i go to add the actual actionscript and it tells me 'actionscript cannot be added to this'.

I know I am abviously missing something so any advice would be appreciated.

Many thanks

Sliilvia
sliilvia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 07:11 PM   #2
sliilvia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 13
Default Help making (PNG) Images Into Buttons.

Hi all, I am very new to using flash and I'd like to use some icons (PNG) I have to insert into my flash in the form of buttons.

Could anyone point me in the direction of an understandable tutorial or perhaps give me some help?

I've imported the graphic and then converted into a button, I have then assigned the over/hit etc properties and then i go to add the actual actionscript and it tells me 'actionscript cannot be added to this'.

I know I am abviously missing something so any advice would be appreciated.

Many thanks

Sliilvia
sliilvia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 07:21 PM   #3
raydowe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 357
Smile Have A Look

Check out this one

http://www.flashandmath.com/basic/buttons0/index.html

It doesn't use png images, but you could easily replace the draw componenets/text and drop in an image. It uses good practices with where to place your actionscript as well
raydowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 07:25 PM   #4
sliilvia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 13
Default

Thats really helpful, hopefully I can get them to work ..

many thanks
sliilvia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 05:41 AM   #5
aamenabar
ASorg learner
 
aamenabar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 265
Default

Flash doesn't let you type code in a button because Flash CS3 by default creates an ActionScript 3.0 movie, go to the propeties of your movie and change the ActionScript version to 2.0
That should let you put actions in a button
__________________
We are here to learn
aamenabar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 03:16 PM   #6
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

[MODERATOR]
Please keep your questions to one thread... Crossposts merged...
[/MODERATOR]
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 03:20 PM   #7
raydowe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 357
Red face I wouldn't...

That may be true, but putting actionscript on buttons is a messy way of coding. It's much better to have a dedicated layer on the root timeline where all your code is placed together.
raydowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 10:48 PM   #8
aamenabar
ASorg learner
 
aamenabar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 265
Default

@raydowe
I totally agree with you. I can't remember anymore how to write code in a button...
writing in one frame the whole thing is waaaay cleaner and easier to mantain... but for beginners it makes more sense typing the code in the button, that way you don't even have to bother with scope...
__________________
We are here to learn
aamenabar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
creating buttons with images on them dynamically? robot63 ActionScript 3.0 5 11-18-2007 04:40 AM
Multiple Arrays storing images as buttons norfy ActionScript 2.0 1 04-06-2006 10:37 PM
textfield to include images or buttons? daspetey ActionScript 2.0 4 02-21-2004 01:32 PM
need code to scroll images with buttons bwong3 Other Flash General Questions 2 05-25-2002 05:02 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:22 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.