i'm a new programmer in AS3 and i making a simple game
it is to have a gun and some arrows go from it and there are moving circle
if the arrow hit the circle so the circle must disappear

its working but with this error

Parameter hitTestObject must be non-null

the game file is attached

thanks in advance
Attached Files
File Type: zip game.zip (9.7 KB, 237 views)
pockydondon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 08:28 PM   #2
pockydondon
dina

oooh
7 views but no any reply
Old 02-06-2009, 08:31 PM   #3
box86rowh
FLEX AND FLASH ARE COOL

why not put the piece of code that is executing the hitTest inside a try catch. That will eliminate the error
box86rowh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 02:24 AM   #4
Mazoonist
Site Contributor

Send a message via AIM to Mazoonist

The main problem is that you declare your arrow variable at the top of the code like this:
ActionScript Code:
var myarrow:arrow1;
Now you've got a variable called myarrow, but if you were to trace out its value at this point, it would be null, because you haven't instantiated it yet. You don't instantiate it in your code until the point where your user presses the spacebar.

However, you start an ENTER_FRAME function right away that begins hit testing this arrow object against the other object:
ActionScript Code:
if(myobj.hitTestObject(myarrow))
Since the enter frame function starts running right away, but the arrow object hasn't been instantiated yet, flash complains with an error message that it can't hit test a null object:

Parameter hitTestObject must be non-null

To remedy this in your code, you might do something like this:
ActionScript Code:
function hit(e:Event):void {     if(myarrow != null) {         if(myobj.hitTestObject(myarrow)) {             removeChild(myobj);             removeChild(myarrow);             won.text="You Won";         }     } }