Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 12-29-2002, 08:57 PM   #1
cruiserparts

Default alpha fade image, wait, fade out, next frame

Greeting,

After three hous of review I have now looked at so many scripts (here and elsewhere) of fading in/out that I am more confused instead of less confused, which seems odd I know.

Here is what I have and what I want to do. I am using MX.

I have twenty images, one one each frame of a movie clip, placed around the stage. I want the imges placed instead of loaded so that I can control where they appear on the stage. I would like each image to fade in, stay on the stage for 4 seconds, fade out, and then go to the next frame (and repeat with the image located on that frame). Does anybody have any scripts that already do this. I am a beginner and I am not that famaliar with action scripting. I think what I need to do is use an onEnterFrame, with an alpha fade in, some type of delay/counting script, and then a fade-out, and go to the next frame.

I know that you all have thousands of things you could be doing instead of helping me, so please know that I appreciate it.
cruiserparts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2002, 10:17 PM   #2
Billy T
Oops I did it again

Default Re: alpha fade image, wait, fade out, next frame

Quote:
Originally posted by cruiserparts
I want the imges placed instead of loaded so that I can control where they appear on the stage.
Hi there

you can position loaded images...

anyway, for the fader try something like this

in frame 1 put

stop();

then on each mc put

onClipEvent(load){
fadeIn=true;
i=0;
_alpha=0;
}
onClipEvent(enterFrame){
if(fadeIn && _alpha<100){
_alpha+=5;
}
if(!fadeIn && _alpha>0){
_alpha-=5;
}
if(_alpha>90){
i++;
}
if(i>60){
fadeIn=false;
}
if(!fadeIn && _alpha==0;
_parent.gotoAndStop(_parent._currentframe+1);
}
}

bit messy but should work ok

cheers
Free Flash Video Tutorials
Photo Website Template

Don't email or PM me questions...