Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 12-30-2002, 06:15 PM   #1
lbower
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 157
Default FListBox.setRowCount

has anybody else had problems when this is set to one? (i.e. myListBox.setRowCount(1))
lbower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 02:52 AM   #2
bembino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to bembino Send a message via Yahoo to bembino
Default

Doesn't look like the scroller will fit within one line. Were there any particular problems you were having?
bembino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 01:11 PM   #3
lbower
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 157
Default

I am building a product simulation. On a few dialog boxes there are fields that display one line of information where the user can click an up or down arrow to change the selection. I wasn't quite sure how to approach building this, and then I happened upon the list box component (phew!)- which fits my need exactly, except the fact that it won't let me display only one line. Which, what on earth is the point of that?! I mean, if Flash offers the option to let you determine the number of lines to display, why not include the option to display one line? Stupid software!!
(Note the convenience of blaming an inanimate object for my inability to solve my problem.)

Does anyone out there remember reading the children's book "Good News, Bad News"? It starts out with this guy jumping out of a plane - "Good news! I jumped out of a plane! Bad news, my parachute won't open. Good news! there's a haystack below! Bad news, there's a pitchfork in the haystack. Good news! I missed the pitchfork! Bad news, I also missed the haystack ..." Well, I'm sure you get the idea of how the rest of the story goes. Anyway, I'm christening this small tale as an allegorical representation of my life in Flash.
lbower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 03:02 PM   #4
bembino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to bembino Send a message via Yahoo to bembino
Default

Have you tried the comboBox? It only displays one line at a time and has an arrow you can click that will drop down a longer list of choices. The user selects one and then it goes back to displaying one line again. Sounds like that is what you need.
bembino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 03:32 PM   #5
lbower
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 157
Default

I've attached a bitmap of what I need.
Attached Files
File Type: zip box.zip (322 Bytes, 162 views)
lbower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 04:02 PM   #6
bembino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to bembino Send a message via Yahoo to bembino
Default

Hmmm...have a look around these places and see if they have what you are looking for.

http://www.flashcomponents.net/
http://componenthq.entclosure.com/

Otherwise we may need to make you your own component.
bembino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 04:19 PM   #7
lbower
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 157
Default

Thanks for the suggestions. I have a feeling that I will in the end just end up making my own component ... (stupid Flash)
lbower is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:41 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.