Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 01-29-2003, 03:22 PM   #1
avelives
"the dude abides..!"
 
avelives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 365
Send a message via AIM to avelives Send a message via Yahoo to avelives
Question Load movies

I have a large movie (which is for the most part a self contained site) however i have a few graphical movies (individual movies) which i wish to load into the main timeline when particluar buttons are pressed.
I would put them in the main timeline but then the preloading time is just way to long.
What is the script for laoding smaller movies into a larger one ONLY when a button is pressed.
I should say that by loading the movies i do not want any of main timline to change or be affected.

Last edited by avelives; 01-29-2003 at 03:24 PM.
avelives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 09:31 AM   #2
Caimin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rome, Italy.
Posts: 186
Default

Adding this code to a button will tell it to load the .swf "nameOfFile.swf" into _level1 of your main .swf.

on(press){
loadMovieNum("nameOfFile.swf", 1);
}

To load into a different _level, just change the 1 to another number.

Helps?
__________________
Caimin Jones
Freelance web, flash + games developer
Caimin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 09:50 AM   #3
linckx
indeed
 
linckx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Olen, Belgium
Posts: 2,058
Default

you could also use the target-method (a little more complicated, not much) with more 'adjust-possibillities'.

check the tutorialsection in here for a good tut on loadmovie

robin
linckx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 10:21 AM   #4
Luis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 32
Question

I was checking this post and remenber that i had a similar problem.
I've been testing this http://conceicaoleitao.no.sapo.pt , but i think that it's too large (aprox. 400K), so what i've been loocking for is to "load multiple movie's" on the main movie so that the user can choose those themes that already been loaded without seeing them loading.
I hope that i maked myself clear!
Luis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 10:28 AM   #5
linckx
indeed
 
linckx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Olen, Belgium
Posts: 2,058
Default

I understand you

nice site btw...

now what you want to do is:
for targets:
when your main movie is loaded immediately ask flash to load the other movies into targets, preferably invisible ones (or just hidden is ok too)
if hidden or invisible isn't possible, make your loaded movie like that, so your first frame doesn't have anything in it, and it only goes to the second frame when the necessary button is pressed.
this also goes for levels.

see where I'm heading?

A movie doesn't require to be loaded when it needs to be played, you can load it in advance, but whatever you do, make sure your main movie is loaded fully first, because that's the part people want to see.
linckx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 11:03 AM   #6
Luis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 32
Default

I'm just focus on the tech aspect. I'm trying to study the AD!!!, to solve this small problems. Everyday i realize that to make some good stuff, you need a few team: programer, motion effects, graphic designer, sound engineer and maybe an redactor. Any way, I've looking to solved this question on this tutorial, but doesn´t work on me!!!!

IMPORTANT NOTICE: I´m a graphic designer that just finished an intensive course on Multimedia design. You may say "nice for you", but i only get the teory (ex:hypermedia system principles), now i want to improve the all practical aspect.
Attached Files
File Type: zip load_multiplo folder.zip (38.0 KB, 154 views)
Luis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 11:16 AM   #7
linckx
indeed
 
linckx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Olen, Belgium
Posts: 2,058
Default

I can't quite seem to follow what your problem is with this...

what do you mean by AD?


robin
linckx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 11:28 AM   #8
Luis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 32
Smile

Sorry, Actionscript Reference Guide
Luis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 11:37 AM   #9
linckx
indeed
 
linckx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Olen, Belgium
Posts: 2,058
Default

ok, but what is it you need on the project? works fine for me

robin
linckx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 11:49 AM   #10
Luis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 32
Default

As a portuguese organization testing website, there is some organization clients that doesn't have a DSL connection. And that can be a problem for those. Am i wrong thinking on that possibility? or may i way for more feedback's?
Luis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:32 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.