Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 11-27-2009, 04:00 PM   #1
Raconteur

Red face Some guidance on image placement and Flex vs. Flash

Hi gang,

I have been messing with Flash for many years, but have only done a few appreciable applications with it (usually using more "industrial strength" tools).

I am trying to brush the dust off of my chops, as it were, by writing a game in Flash CS4.

To that end, I have a couple of questions that I am hoping someone would be kind enough to shed some light on.

First, the game is a card game, similar to Magic: The Gathering, where the cards have an image and some description text displayed on them. I have created a symbol (a MovieClip) that is exported in frame 1, let's say as BattleCardGfx.

In the symbol, I have a background, which is just a solid color, then two areas of white (with stroked border) where the image and description will go.

In the description area, I have a dynamic text field setup and named "descText."

In the image area is a symbol (a MovieClip) called "cardImage." The symbol is setup in the proper location and sized correctly - in this case X=0, Y=-31, W=100, H=100.

I am reading the deck from an XML file, and placing the data into an instance of a Card (new BattleCardGfx()), and everything works great, except the image. When I place the image it does not appear to be getting put into the bounds specified by the "cardImage" symbol. Here is the code I am using to do it:

ActionScript Code:
public function addImage(loc:String):void {     var imgLoader:Loader = new Loader();                    var img:URLRequest = new URLRequest(loc);     imgLoader.load(img);     basis.cardImage.removeChildAt(0);        basis.cardImage.addChild(imgLoader); }