Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > ActionScript Forums Group > Simple Stuff (Newbies)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2003, 07:20 AM   #1
snoopy13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 11
Question play till...

hello
I try to tell a button to play till a certain frame comes (for navigation) and then stop. It should not goto that frame but play till it reaches it. I've tried with play while _currentframe<20 etc. but it didn't work.
can anyone please help me??
thanks a lot!
snoopy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 09:49 AM   #2
sputnikinspace
lost in space...
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 127
Default

ehh...maybe I am misunderstanding what you are trying to do..

Make a stop(); action on the frame it should stay on

/sput
sputnikinspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 09:57 AM   #3
snoopy13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 11
Default stop is not the point;-)

I can't use stop, as the movie doesn't have to stop at the same points all the time. the point, where it should stop depends on which button is clicked. eg. with button 1 the movie should play and stop at frame 10. if you click button 2 the movie should play from 1 and stop at frame 20
any idea?
snoopy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 06:37 AM   #4
sputnikinspace
lost in space...
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 127
Default

post a fla file!!
sputnikinspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 07:12 AM   #5
snoopy13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 11
Default fla file

ok, i've attached a fla. the original is to big, so I've tried to make up the same problem in small
there are three buttons called frame 1 frame2 and frame 3, from clicking button 3 should make the movie play from wher it is to frame 30 and stop. clicking button 2 should make it play to 20 and stop.
hope, this is not too conufusing and someome can help!!
thaks a lot!
Attached Files
File Type: zip problem.zip (2.8 KB, 126 views)
snoopy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 12:25 PM   #6
sputnikinspace
lost in space...
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 127
Default

goto this thread:

http://skyscraper.paregos.com/swf/index.htm

enter - click free your mind-flash class

download xmove of dynamic movieclip

this should be what you are after!!

cheers
/sput
sputnikinspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 01:15 PM   #7
sputnikinspace
lost in space...
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 127
Default

or...

- maybe you could do a variable(= currrent frame) thats equal to the frame on the root.. and the greenMc with an own timeline.

- Make a listener that checks the currentframe and makes the GreenMc goto variable + 1

- This combined with a couple of if's and else should maybe get it to work - to make it stop when it reches the variablenumber which is equal to a position under the current button

any programmers out there???

on the other hand - this is a much more complicated way of diong this- the paregos file is easier....never mind
/sput
sputnikinspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 02:58 PM   #8
snoopy13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 11
Default variables

hy sput and thanks for your help.
the link is not quite what i need, as my green box is in reality not just a box moving but a much more complex thing. the idea with the variables is good, but I have problems with it...cause I havent used variables before..
I tried to setVariable frame =_currentframe in a frame action and then tell the button to:
on (release) {
if (frame < 10) {
play();
} else {
stop();
}
}
but it doesn't work. why????
thanks for helping!
snoopy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 04:48 PM   #9
sputnikinspace
lost in space...
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 127
Default

ok this is how you can solve it with tweens..

ask if theres is anything you don't understand

cheers
/sput
Attached Files
File Type: zip problem.zip (4.3 KB, 131 views)
sputnikinspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2003, 08:43 AM   #10
snoopy13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 11
Default

thank you very much sput!!
I looked at your file and think I understand. I'll try imediately!
snoopy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:06 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.