Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > Flex > Flex 2, 3 & 4

Old 01-19-2010, 04:27 PM   #1
scripter73

Default Trying to Understand Login and State Management

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Flex 3. I'm using the builder.

Here's my core problem. I'm coming from a ColdFusion background, where users run to the server for any type of authentication and sessions rule until they're timed out.

My goal is to understand how ColdFusion (with a SQL Server backend) and Flex work together to help a user login and helps that same user maintain it's state.

I understand so far that Flex can use a RemoteObject to go back and use ColdFusion services to authenticate a user. I'd like to go this route.

My problem is understanding how does Flex maintains information about the particular logged in user. Am I correct in thinking that once I return information from ColdFusion about the user, I create a global object in Flex that keeps the user's information that I can refer to as I transition between the View States (states) in my Flex application? And I can just refer to that local user object if I need to make sure I'm still dealing with the same user?

Is it really that simple? Also, I've had been trying to review COUNTLESS articles on the Login/Authentication process. One that I came across suggested placing a UUID on the server for a particular logged in user, and then I just return that back to Flex. Does anyone recommend that? I know that when I used sessions in ColdFusion, the server did this, so I'm not sure which routes to take.

By the way, I'm designing an Intranet that's only accessible from our internal network, but I want my colleagues to be able to login securely. And like I said before, I'm using ColdFusion (and CF services), SQL Server, and Flex 3.