Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 03-12-2003, 05:06 AM   #1
thebloodpoolkid
Bleeding Thoughts
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 65
Default apache/php suggestions

long story short ...I cant get it
I am on XP
trying to install apache 1.3.20 and get php4 running in conjuction with it.

I was able to install apache then trying to complete the install of php on apache I failed, it wont work. I have went through many, many tuts all suggesting the same and I cant get it. I have a book on php/flash i am trying to follow and cant do so cuse i cannot get it running.

All I want to do now is uninstall PHP off my system, but how?

I thing part of the reason i am having such problem is because I installed php on D: drive and not C:

is there a way to uninstall PHP? or does anyone have any suggestions what to do at this point..
thebloodpoolkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2003, 06:29 AM   #2
butterbur
Barman
 
butterbur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK (the shires)
Posts: 113
Send a message via ICQ to butterbur
Default

php doesn't really 'install' on your system as such, however to remove php simply delete the folder containing your php files, remove the lines added to apache (httpd.conf) for php support and remove the dll files you added to your system32 folder (the names of these can be found in the install instuctions in your php folder).

My suggestion would be to get one of the complete install packages from hotscripts. If you do then I would remove apache first, this can be done through add/remove programs.
butterbur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2003, 01:30 PM   #3
thebloodpoolkid
Bleeding Thoughts
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 65
Default

you have an direct link? Thanks
thebloodpoolkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2003, 01:54 PM   #4
butterbur
Barman
 
butterbur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK (the shires)
Posts: 113
Send a message via ICQ to butterbur
Default

Done a bit of hunting and I think this is the most popular
http://www.easyphp.org/
butterbur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2003, 02:35 PM   #5
thebloodpoolkid
Bleeding Thoughts
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 65
Thumbs up

Got it thanks. That was pretty easy, huh.


But think after doing all that I found my problem....
I was not saving my php files in the correct directory(folder)
now I am mad

I'll give it another shot some other time this shall do for now, thanks again
thebloodpoolkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2003, 03:09 PM   #6
thebloodpoolkid
Bleeding Thoughts
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 65
Default

So i installed the package local host now works along with php, but I am not able to access mysql
what I did is went ahead and installed WinMySQL.
would that have been the wrong thing to do?

before I did so I was not able to access MySQL or did not know how to, I went into command propmt and typed cd \mysql
and got nothing, have you dowloaded this software EasyPHP?
you know what it is about, I went to the site and no english forums/support from what I seen.

sorry for the bother but I am just starting out here, before it is all over it I will be able to install all this with my eyes cloase
I been through it so many times
thebloodpoolkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2003, 04:27 PM   #7
butterbur
Barman
 
butterbur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK (the shires)
Posts: 113
Send a message via ICQ to butterbur
Default

Go to 'c:\mysql\bin' double click on 'winmysqladmin.exe'
You are then asked you for a username & password. Use 'root' for the username, specify a password, and its up and running. winmysqladmin on first execution is added to the startup folder so when you restart your system, mysql will also be up and running too.
butterbur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2003, 11:16 PM   #8
daifu001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 5
Default

I recently installed php in my computer. I have not been able to make the apache server or mysql go. The lights are red.

Can anybody help?

Should I reinstall again?

I am using windows xp.
Also, I have looked in my Control Panel and I do not see any Apache or MySQl programs , only the php one.


I hope someone can help me to get this working. I looooooooove this program since I can see it in operation in here.

regards

Last edited by daifu001; 03-12-2003 at 11:23 PM.
daifu001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 12:08 AM   #9
daifu001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 5
Default Still problems with installation

When I try now to start php, i get a warning, and then the
following:

dbase:Unable to initialize module
Module compiled with Module Ap1=20020429, debug=0, thread-safety=1

Php compiled with module AP1=20020901, debug=0, thread-safety=1

These options need to match.

Help.
daifu001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 12:24 AM   #10
daifu001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 5
Default reinstall easyphp

I re-installed the program and the warning is no longer there. However I still get the red lights on both Apache and mysql.

Even though I do not know much about these installations I have the feeling that the program is not automatically installing my Apache server and mysql programs.

If this is so, how do i go about doing that?

regards
daifu001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:20 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.