Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > General > Flashants Support Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-17-2003, 01:28 PM   #1
hank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5
Default video frame size

I'm having a bit of a problem determining the funtional behaviour of the avclip.AutoSize fscommand in relation to avclip.DisplaySize.

My main question is: what exactly is AutoSize supposed to do?
I would think it sets the size of the videoclip on the resolution the clip was originaly encoded on, but it looks like it depends on the framesize the clip was before setting AutoSize = TRUE. (framesize was set with DisplaySize). Problem is I cannot find out any logic in the size I wind up with.


original clip size 320x240
swf size: 800 x 600

if (fas.avclip.DisplaySize , DoubleSize)
(--> clip scales up to appr. 640x480)
then
(fas.avclip.AutoSize, TRUE) --> does nothing

if (fas.avclip.DisplaySize , OneHalfScreen)
(--> clip scales up)
then
(fas.avclip.AutoSize, TRUE) --> gets even bigger!!! (appr 10%)

if (fas.avclip.DisplaySize , HalfScreen)
(--> clip scales down to appr. 160x120)
then
(fas.avclip.AutoSize, TRUE) --> changes position, NOT framesize!

Second, what do all the DisplaySize arguments mean exactly? Are to relative values compared to the swf it is used in or absolute to screensize or video size...

Last edited by hank; 03-17-2003 at 01:35 PM.
hank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2003, 02:58 AM   #2
Flashants
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 147
Default

If you set AutoSize to TRUE, the video size should be always the original clip size (320x240).

If you set AutoSize to FALSE, the video size should follow the DisplaySize arguments.

If you set AutoSize to FALSE and set DisplaySize to FitToSize, the video size follow fas.avclip.rect.

You mail email your fla to [email protected] with your order receipt(If you are a registered customer) for troubleshooting.

Regards,
Flashants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2003, 08:34 AM   #3
hank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for your fast reply...

>If you set AutoSize to TRUE, the video size should be always the original clip size (320x240).

nope, not true with me , the resulting size depends on the size the video was (set with DisplaySize = <value>) before I set Autosize = TRUE...

>If you set AutoSize to FALSE, the video size should follow the DisplaySize arguments.

nope, not true with me, the videosize changes only after 1) setting AutoSize = FALSE 2) setting DisplaySize = <value> 3) changing AutoSize = TRUE again...
strange huh?
btw, the resulting sizes seem to be OK: 'Double', 'Halfscreen' and 'Default' seem to give absolute (res-independent) video-sizes, 'OneHalfscreen' gives a relative (res.-dependent) size. Is that right?
also setting avclip.XY seems to be executed later than immediate after I set the var...

>If you set AutoSize to FALSE and set DisplaySize to FitToSize, the video size follow fas.avclip.rect.

true, DisplaySize = FitToSize always gives me the exact sizes I specify.
But due to performance-issues I cannot make use of this all the time. I recon that if I use a resolution independent videosize the load on CPU will be smaller when my swf is scaled other than 100%. Don't you think so?

>You mail email your fla to [email protected] with your order receipt(If you are a registered customer) for troubleshooting.

We will register, but only after we are sure that FlashAnts qualifies for our current project. Controlling exactly what and how the video plays is one of our biggest issues we are investigating momentarily.

My impression is that controlling the videosizes is somewhat random or at least indirect. Can this be related to the version of the FMPlayer browser-plugin? You released version 1.5 but my test-machine had the version prior installed and never asked me to update...

tnx Hank
hank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2003, 08:45 AM   #4
Flashants
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 147
Default

Please download the FMProjector 1.5 trail here:
http://www.flashants.com/download/download.shtml

To upgrade FMPlayer plugin to V1.5, please go to the following URL.
http://www.flashants.com/tutor/sample1.shtml


Would you send a fla sample to us so we can try solve your problem more easily?
If you do, please email to: [email protected]
Flashants is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:52 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.