Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > ActionScript Forums Group > Simple Stuff (Newbies)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-15-2010, 08:05 PM   #1
TehChaser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Default Movie Clip to timeline issues

i know im doing this a dumb way but i need some help

i have 3 scenes. the first in just an opening animation

the other two scenes have the same movie clips on frame 1, but different things on frames 2 and 3

in the movie clip, i have buttons that lead to frame 2 or frame 3

the code i have is

on(release){
_root.gotoAndStop(2);
}

which should work, but for some reason it goes to scene 1's frame 2 rather than the scene the movie clip is on.

i cant use frame lables in this case because the same movie clip is reused to go to a different thing. is this even possible to do?
TehChaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 06:38 PM   #2
lujan30
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Marina del Rey, Los Angeles
Posts: 30
Default

Hello,
Try to use 'this' instead of '_root', that points to stay in the scene you're having your movie clips

on(release){
this.gotoAndStop(2);
}

hope it helps !
lujan30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:15 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.