Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > ActionScript Forums Group > Simple Stuff (Newbies)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2003, 11:53 PM   #1
skee
shreadmeister
 
skee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 491
Default preloading mc's with library items

I have done a number of searches on as.org for ways to preload .swf's. The question that I am having a hard time figuring out is how to get a preloader to work when the movie to be loaded has all the graphics in the library and I don't want to change the export settings within that movie. The preloader works for .swf files that have all objects on the main stage. Any tips are suggestions appreciated.
thanks,
skee
__________________
HeavyBag
skee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2003, 05:36 AM   #2
Jesse
ActionScript.org Founder
 
Jesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 8,736
Default

If you'r enot willing to change the export settings to stop the library items exporting on the first frame you will have to use a wrapper SWF which acts simply as a preloader of extenal files. See this open source file for an external file preloader: http://www.actionscripts.org/showMovie.php?id=42
__________________
Cheers

Jesse Stratford
ActionScript.org Cofounder

Please don't email or PM me Flash questions, that's what the Forums are for!

Please don't rely on me reading my PMs either. Email me about important stuff.
Jesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2003, 08:05 PM   #3
skee
shreadmeister
 
skee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 491
Default got it

Thanks for the response Jesse. I was able to avoid the wrapper .swf by simply putting the library objects on the main stage in a frame before the attachMovie script in the mc's to be loaded...and it worked. I was then able to remove the "Export in 1st Frame" option. Another valuable piece of advice I found with a bit more searching.
thanks again,
skee
__________________
HeavyBag
skee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 05:11 AM   #4
Jesse
ActionScript.org Founder
 
Jesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 8,736
Default

Yeah that's what i meant by "change the export settings". Glad you got it going.
__________________
Cheers

Jesse Stratford
ActionScript.org Cofounder

Please don't email or PM me Flash questions, that's what the Forums are for!

Please don't rely on me reading my PMs either. Email me about important stuff.
Jesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 05:43 PM   #5
skee
shreadmeister
 
skee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 491
Default

...I guess that is what you said...just didn't fully get it at first. It took me way too long to understand this.
thanx
__________________
HeavyBag
skee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:33 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.