Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > Flash General Questions > Other Flash General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-19-2001, 05:38 PM   #1
BernardoEscoffie
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Yucatan, Mexico
Posts: 7
Exclamation

Hi, this is my problem:

My client needs a form in flash with this fields:

Full name
e-mail
phone number (optional)
genre (male or female radio buttons)
comments

And wants it to create a data base (txt file, or access or something, the easiest way for my client).
Ok, I am an empiric web designer, and knows something about html and the flash actionscript, but i am clueless about php or pearl or cgi or any other.

My questions are:

*What aplications I need, just Flash and Dreamweaver, or there is another I need to buy?

*Do I need a server to test it, or I can test it on my HDD?

*And obviously, how i make it work?

Please, I realy need that help

Thank you.





BernardoEscoffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2001, 04:05 AM   #2
Jesse
ActionScript.org Founder
 
Jesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 8,736
Default

You'll need a text editor like notpad or something similar for the PHP/CGI.

You can test PHP and CGI on your local machine only if you run a webserver locally. Go to http://www.appache.org for a great free one which supports PHP and CGI.

Then basically all you have to do is create text fields in flash with variable names and create the PHP script which accepts variables with those names and outputs them to a file (not a database, that's more difficult, stick with a text file if you're a beginner).

See this thread which discussed a very similar thing (Excell not Access): http://www.actionscripts.org/forums/...?threadid=1268

And also this threads:
http://www.actionscripts.org/forums/...3?threadid=851
http://www.actionscripts.org/forums/...3?threadid=749 (CGI)

Cheers

Jesse
__________________
Cheers

Jesse Stratford
ActionScript.org Cofounder

Please don't email or PM me Flash questions, that's what the Forums are for!

Please don't rely on me reading my PMs either. Email me about important stuff.
Jesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2001, 03:58 AM   #3
BernardoEscoffie
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Yucatan, Mexico
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks a lot, you saved my neck, donīt know anything about apache or another server app, but i tested it on a free site and it works after a lot of trys. But you gived me the bases. Thanks
BernardoEscoffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
passing radio button variables/values acperez ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 10 03-17-2006 12:20 PM
Database simulated with arrays on a cd-rom lecasn5 Components 61 09-07-2004 11:40 AM
urgent...newbie wants to pass data to movieclip monimaroni Server-Side Scripting 1 01-20-2003 11:38 AM
Data Grid Not Populating sTango ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 1 01-10-2003 06:05 PM
Newbie question - Passing data to db candreachi ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 3 09-16-2002 10:24 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:16 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.