Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 04-07-2003, 03:07 AM   #1
ltt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 10
Default Problems w/ scenes

Um...I don't know if this question is posted already or not...

Problem:

I created 2 different scenes (scene 1 and scene 2) and when I tried to test movie....it seemed like 2 scenes are playing at the same time. But, if I tried to test scene...only that scene is playing.

I'm just wondering will 2 scenes play at the same time for the final result...if that's the case, how do I make it so that scene 1 is playing first and then scene 2?

thanks...for your time.

-ltt
ltt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2003, 03:19 AM   #2
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

Quote:
scene 1 is playing first and then scene 2
As far as I know, that should be almost always true... and I cannot think of any reason why both of them are running at the same time... Can you make a simple sample file and post it right here???
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2003, 09:37 AM   #3
Simon Turner
oh the pain ... 8^|
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Warwickshire UK
Posts: 35
Send a message via ICQ to Simon Turner
Default

just a thought ...

But did you mean that scene 1 runs into scene 2 when really you want it to stop at the end of scene 1? If so, a 'stop' command at the end of your score will do the job ..... otherwise - it sounds like you have a 'duff' file because I have never seen 2 'scenes' playing simultaniously. Bet some guys would like to see your coding if this is true, would be a useful trick to know

Simon
Simon Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 08:41 AM   #4
ltt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 10
Default

OK...here goes...are you guys ready.

For scene1: I used;

onClipEvent(load) {
this.loadVariables("hi.txt");
startXpos=550;
startYpos =130;
enterTime = 0;
elapsedTime = 0;
nextX=0;
i = 0;
}
onClipEvent (data) {
newLetters = new Array();
newLetters = dataString.split("");

}
onClipEvent (enterFrame){
if (elapsedTime >100){
enterTime = getTimer();
if(i< this.newLetters.length){
_root.attachMovie("wow","wow"+i,i);
_root["wow"+i].cool.text =
newLetters[i];

_root["wow"+i]._x = nextX;
_root["wow"+i]._y = startYpos;
nextX = _root
["wow"+i]._X+_root
["wow"+i].cool.textWidth;

++i;
elapsedTime =0;
}
}else{
elapsedTime = getTimer() - enterTime;

}
}

For scene 2: I used the above code on the main timeline and changed the followings; "hi.txt", cool, "wow", "wow"+i

//I ran into lots of problems using these codes. If I used the above code for scene 1 and do a basic tween on the main timeline of the 2nd scene w/o the above code, when I test movie, scene 2 played only...it seemed like scene2 override scene 1.

And if I used the above code for both scenes, when i tested movie, both scenes played at the same time.

I REALLY DON'T KNOW HOW FLASH WORK AT ALL !!!!

I'll catch you guys later...ThankYou!

-ltt
ltt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:22 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.