Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 05-21-2001, 07:52 PM   #1
franmartin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 16
Default

hi again.
more about loadMovie on a movieclip.
I have a Mainmovie.swf whit a blank movieclip (instance name: containerclip) to nest external loadmovie.swf and a button to load this .swf

1.- loadmovie01.swf on containerclip : there are four different syntax to load (at least):

on (press) { loadMovie ("loadmovie01.swf", _root.containerclip); }
on (press) { loadMovie ("loadmovie01.swf", "_root.containerclip"); }
on (press) { loadMovie ("loadmovie01.swf", "_level0.containerclip"); }
on (press) { loadMovie ("loadmovie01.swf", _level0.containerclip); }

first question. Targeted movieclip: to be with quotation marks or not to be with quotation marks that is the question

to unload that movie from containerclip another button where any of the next scripts work properly :

on (press) { unloadMovie (_root.containerclip); }
on (press) { unloadMovie ("_root.containerclip"); }
on (press) { unloadMovie ("_level0.containerclip"); }
on (press) { unloadMovie (_level0.containerclip); }
on (press) {unloadMovie ("/containerclip"); }

but...
second question : when click to unload with any of those different scripts from above output gives a message : Error opening URL "file:///C|/mydocuments/flash5/test3/" (the path to the folder where the .swf files are placed) and in the debugger the action to unload shows that level0.containerclip is loading the Mainmovie.... ummm Mainmovie is attempting to load itself in its inner containerclip. it works but unload is really unloading ??

third question: which could be the script to play the frame (2) on loadmovie01.swf when it´s nested on containerclip inside Mainmovie??

the final question is: which is the status of a movie.swf nested on a movieclip from the Mainmovie.swf?

Thanks in advance.
franmartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2001, 06:54 AM   #2
Jesse
ActionScript.org Founder
 
Jesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 8,736
Default

... whether tis nobler in the mind to suffer the String and Expressions of outrageous syntax...

1. Yes, use quotes.

on (press) {
loadMovie ("loadmovie01.swf", "_root.containerclip");
}

Without quotes it would be indicating you wanted to load into the movie clip whose instance name is specified in the _root.containerclip variable.

Same goes for question 2, use quotes.

That error is caused by flash looking for the non-existant variable _root.containerclip which therefor has no content and causes Flash to try to load a movie with no name.

Question 3: _root.containerclip.gotoAndPlay(2)

Question 4: Huh? Status?

Cheers

Jesse
__________________
Cheers

Jesse Stratford
ActionScript.org Cofounder

Please don't email or PM me Flash questions, that's what the Forums are for!

Please don't rely on me reading my PMs either. Email me about important stuff.
Jesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2001, 08:58 PM   #3
franmartin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 16
Default

What i am talking about when i am talking about status? ummmm...
Well, loadedmovie.swf when is loaded on Mainmovie.swf is placed on different level and to communicate between them you use _level. Everyone on its own level: status.

But when it is loaded on a (empty and just one framed)movieclip placed on mainmovie.swf its "status" change and its behaviour is the same like a movieclip. Loadedmovie.swf become a instance on the mainmovie.swf. Became the container.mc.
To communicate with loadedmovie.swf now, you target the container mc. _root.container.gotoAndPlay (2). And container which was a movieclip without content and frames, now is filled with content and frames.
franmartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2001, 04:17 AM   #4
Jesse
ActionScript.org Founder
 
Jesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 8,736
Default

So have you just answerred your own question??

To target movies loaded into blank MCs you use paths as you would to target any other MC;

_root.containerMC.gotoAndStop(21)

Cheers

Jesse
__________________
Cheers

Jesse Stratford
ActionScript.org Cofounder

Please don't email or PM me Flash questions, that's what the Forums are for!

Please don't rely on me reading my PMs either. Email me about important stuff.
Jesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
loadmovie then specifying movieclip and frame nikita ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 3 10-28-2004 03:28 PM
MovieClip loadMovie help bjory ActionScript 2.0 3 10-16-2004 01:25 PM
loadMovie on top of movieClip miknsh5 ActionScript 2.0 2 04-30-2004 08:59 AM
Masking a movieClip loaded with loadMovie eliz ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 4 01-18-2003 05:56 AM
LoadMovie into MovieClip. Timeline Problem. kano ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 4 11-26-2001 03:41 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:56 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.