Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 05-25-2001, 02:23 PM   #1
jackson
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 17
Default

Using script to duplicate mc with fancy stuff.
On the toplayer in the main mc I have static text that I always want to remain on top of everything. But the mc with the dulication always covers it although it is on a lower layer. It there anyway to make the static text always be on top?

thanks
jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2001, 05:55 PM   #2
Marx
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 378
Default

Hi...
You need to place the text in an MC then you can set the depth of that MC to a higer level than the duplicated MC's.

If for example you set the duplication action as follows:

on (release) {
duplicateMovieClip ("_root.box", "newBox", 1);
}

Here we've set the depth to '1'. For our text MC to appear above the duplicated MC's we need to set the depth to a higher number, so add the following code to the text MC:

onClipEvent (load) {
this.swapDepths(10);
}

Just make sure that the figure you type as the depth is higher than your duplicates.

Hope this helps.

Marx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2001, 07:52 PM   #3
jackson
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 17
Question text always on top

Thanks, but what if I have

duplicateMovieClip ("new", "new" add mc, mc);

where mc is initialized to
mc = 1; in the previous frame?

thanks for the help, I really apreciate it.

jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2001, 07:55 PM   #4
jackson
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 17
Default

Hey I figured it out I just made the depth to "mc+ 1" and it worked.

thanks alot for the lead/answer
jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XML/ActionScript help pleeeeeeese....... witchking ActionScript 2.0 3 01-21-2005 06:42 AM
Showing a text o a dynamic text in another MC ectavares ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 9 06-20-2004 07:54 PM
MC, dynamic text script problem(help please) JerJer ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 10 01-17-2003 05:51 PM
How to load dynamic text into a dragable Mc??? davidtrin ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 3 11-16-2001 07:56 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:47 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.