Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 02-09-2012, 07:58 PM   #1
NylePudding

Default 1009 Error, for no noticeable reason

I am a complete rookie when it comes to flash, but I have coded in many programming languages before this.

The reason why I am so totally confused as to why this error is occurring, is simply because I didn't change any code to get this error. I was messing around with a glow filter, I test my game and BOOM. The infamous 1009 error apears when I test my little game. =[

I even pressed Ctrl + Z a million times to get back to a state where I knew my project worked, but I still get the same error.

I get an output error of: "TypeError: Error #1009: Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference.
at DocumentMain/enterFrameHandler()"

Can anyone think of any quick fixes?

Thank you very much for any help. =]

Here's my code - pastebin(D O T)com(S L A S H)DfN3h8ye

Last edited by NylePudding; 02-09-2012 at 08:01 PM.
NylePudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 08:32 PM   #2
-:)lauri

I sounds like you have some reference to the object in the enterFrameHandler() function that doesn't exist. Maybe you could just comment everything in enterFrameHandler() function out and then trace them one after one to find which object isn't there and then just make sure you don't try to use object that doesn't exist.

EDIT: oh ok, I looked your code and it seems you need to instantiate the _ball before setting enterframe listener.

Last edited by -:)lauri; 02-09-2012 at 08:41 PM.
-:)lauri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 09:09 AM   #3
NylePudding

Okay, it sounds like the fix isn't going to be very tricky to do. But how would I instantiate the _ball exactly?

Please bare with me, like I said I'm prety new to Action Script. x]
Old 02-10-2012, 09:17 AM   #4
SanderSoulwax

ActionScript Code:
_ball = new Ball();
in DocumentMain();

Done.
SanderSoulwax is offline   Reply With Quote