Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > ActionScript Forums Group > ActionScript 3.0

Old 03-20-2012, 03:16 PM   #1
Eunoshin

Default Database recommendations

Morning all! Excuse my ignorance here (this might not even be the right forum to post this), but I need some help.

In my program, I have need of a rather basic database. The database will just be readonly, and will be read at the start of the program and then will not be used again for the duration.

However, I am completely new to implementation of databases, both in general and also to use them with Actionscript. Would any of you be willing to recommend 1) What kind of database to use, 2) The best / simplest way to read databases into Actionscript, and/or 3) Simple guides to help me wrap my head around all the various terminology involved? I see PHP and MySQL tossed around, and I don't know if they're competing technologies, or used at different steps of the process, or WHAT.

Any time you could take out of your busy days would be greatly appreciated.
Eunoshin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 03:46 PM   #2
ASWC
Super Moderator

A web Flash app has no way of reading directly a database like mySQL. That's why it needs the help of a server side script like PHP to read the db (data from the db) and then pass it to the Flash app in a format that Flash can read and understand. This is done simply from Flash by using URLLoader and load a PHP script (you can pass parameters in the URLRequest), that PHP script log into the db, read the data (maybe using the parameters you passed) then print that data using print() or echo() in a format that Flash can understand (XML, value pair, others). When it's done the URLLoader triggers a COMPLETE event. In this COMPLETE event listener you can read what the PHP printed by using simply e.currentTarget.data (contains anything that was printed).
Old 03-20-2012, 03:59 PM   #3
Barna Biro