Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 05-18-2003, 03:26 PM   #1
Philip Toews
Registered User
 
Philip Toews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 68
Default Camtasia VS RoboDemo

I am researching a product purchase for creating software tutorials. I am looking at both camtasia and robodemo. Anyone in the actionscript.org community using either of these tools? What's great / what sucks about them?

Have you had any problems with either of them?

Are there other products in the same league as them?

TIA!

Philip Toews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2003, 07:50 AM   #2
farafiro
Addicted To FLASH
 
farafiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Egyptian in UAE
Posts: 12,436
Send a message via MSN to farafiro Send a message via Yahoo to farafiro
Default

Hi Philip
I don't think anyone here use this but one of the most cool I've see was in Lynda's and Mark's
__________________
‚€* GOD Is Near ‚€*
Questions Don't PM for Questions . Thanks
An eye for an eye, make the whole world blind
_____________________________________________GHANDI

Last edited by farafiro; 06-29-2003 at 07:27 AM.
farafiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2003, 04:45 AM   #3
monkeybrainz
Down with pants!
 
monkeybrainz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 123
Default resurecting a dead thread - ARISE!!!

Philip Toews - did you try either camtasia or robodemo? i'm also looking to implement flash based tutorials for a site and looking for user input - anyone else try either of these?

thanks!
mb
monkeybrainz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2003, 06:22 AM   #4
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

I cannot answer your question, but I can confuse you more...

There is another one called FlashCast from MDM you might want to check it out if you haven't already...
http://www.multidmedia.com/software/flashcast/

and maybe you can let us know for some more information???
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2003, 11:41 PM   #5
monkeybrainz
Down with pants!
 
monkeybrainz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 123
Default

well i tried out FlashCast and i wasn't overwhelmed. it's got great potential but seems to have some bugs to work out. i got some very helpful error messages like -memory error XE058394 current buffer can't push' or something like that. needs some more error trapping.
i like how it can just spit out a swf but it's driving me nuts trying to sync the mouse movement w/ the video - i'm going to attempt to write a small prog to do this and save myself the $150 or whatever
monkeybrainz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2003, 11:48 PM   #6
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

That sounds nice... Looking forward to hear some more on this matter from you...
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 10:53 AM   #7
monkeybrainz
Down with pants!
 
monkeybrainz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 123
Default testers wanted plz

k i got a bit sidetracked but i made a my own tutorials! what i did was first create a tutorial recorder and then a tutorial player. here it is: add email account tutorial what do you think (or should i add this to site check?)

could you guys test it out in your different browsers/OS's please? (hopefully a mac user )

tested - it works fine on PC IE6, NN4.7
monkeybrainz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 10:54 AM   #8
monkeybrainz
Down with pants!
 
monkeybrainz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 123
Default

crap forgot to say - click on the tutorials link on the front page....
- thanks!
monkeybrainz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 12:04 PM   #9
tg
done
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: portland, or
Posts: 8,106
Default

works on pc w/opera7.10

what did you make that with? flash?
__________________
tg
---
what the hell was i thinking?
tg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 12:54 PM   #10
monkeybrainz
Down with pants!
 
monkeybrainz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 123
Default

hi tg thanks for the reply

yep that was done in flash. i figure the extra 5 minutes it takes me to make a tutorial is still better than spending $350(!) for some of those progs.

ok so far we have:
PC - IE6: ok
PC - NN4.7: ok
PC - Opera 7.1: ok

c'mon mac guys n gals help me out here!

thanks
-mb
monkeybrainz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:33 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.