Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > General > Animation and Effects

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-21-2003, 09:14 AM   #1
Pyralis_Ryu
Fire in the hole
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Africa
Posts: 37
Question Mouse over effect...?

Hi Everyone

I'm trying to work some effects into my navigation.

I created a movieclip (called "home") over 5 frames
On my Actions layer
Frame 1: Stop();
Frame 2: Stop();
Frame 3: //Nothing
Frame 4: //Nothing
Frame 5: gotoAndStop(1);

On my Button layer
I have a shape tween

In my main movie I have the following code relating to the button
on (rollOver) {
_root.home.play();
}
on (rollOut) {
_root.home.play();
}
on (dragOut) {
_root.home.gotoAndPlay(3);
}
on (releaseOutside) {
_root.home.gotoAndPlay(3);
}
on (dragOver) {
_root.home.play();
}

The Problem: When I mouse over really fast the movieclip doesn't play out, i.e. the shape tween stops halfway....

Any ideas?

I looked around and found that the chaps at www.designchapel.com didn't seem to have this problem...

Suggestions will be much appreciated.

Thnx

RYU
Pyralis_Ryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2003, 06:38 PM   #2
Pyralis_Ryu
Fire in the hole
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Africa
Posts: 37
Default another link

http://www.wddg.com/johnmarksorum/jms_photographer.asp

How did they get the "fashion" "beauty" "portrait" ect buttons/mc do do that??

Thanks

RYU
Pyralis_Ryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2003, 01:24 PM   #3
magicwand
Senior Member
 
magicwand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: GA
Posts: 657
Default

Quote:
on (rollOver) {
_root.home.play();
}
on (rollOut) {
_root.home.play();
}
on (dragOut) {
_root.home.gotoAndPlay(3);
}
on (releaseOutside) {
_root.home.gotoAndPlay(3);
}
on (dragOver) {
_root.home.play();
}
from example link, i can see what you are trying to do i think ...
but i can not understand this code.
please post your fla so we can help you better
__________________
"If a man does not keep pace with his
companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer." Thoreau
magicwand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2003, 04:22 PM   #4
Pyralis_Ryu
Fire in the hole
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Africa
Posts: 37
Default :)

Hi Magicwand

Try the Home & Gallaries button, sometimes when I move the mouse over them it gets stuck, i.e. the mc on the button gets confused.

Thanks a million

RYU
Attached Files
File Type: zip source.zip (6.3 KB, 214 views)
Pyralis_Ryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2003, 05:28 PM   #5
magicwand
Senior Member
 
magicwand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: GA
Posts: 657
Default

something like this might help?
Attached Files
File Type: zip buttons.zip (6.6 KB, 274 views)
__________________
"If a man does not keep pace with his
companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer." Thoreau
magicwand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2003, 05:44 PM   #6
Pyralis_Ryu
Fire in the hole
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Africa
Posts: 37
Talking Dear Chap

You are a supa-STAR!

Thanks a million- That's just what I was trying to do!

I owe you one bruffa!

Again thanks!

RYU
Pyralis_Ryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2003, 04:15 PM   #7
hero_x
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 4
Default

new question on this...
if you we're going to do something like design chapel and have a zillion links in your portfolio, what would be the best way to go about duplicating your movie links? I mean...if you change the text in one, it'll change them in all if you just copy and paste. So is there a way to duplicate something yet make it a totally independent mc?
hero_x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2003, 04:49 PM   #8
magicwand
Senior Member
 
magicwand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: GA
Posts: 657
Default

this._name will give you the instance name of that MC if used on MC.
therefore you will have unique and independent action with same code.
i hope this is what you are asking....
__________________
"If a man does not keep pace with his
companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer." Thoreau
magicwand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2003, 05:31 PM   #9
hero_x
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 4
Default

yes. i can see how changing the instance name will make it so you can do different buttons, however my concern is when you have to change the text. for example if you make 5 copies of the galleries button, if you change the text on that, it changes the text on all 5.

anyway to get around that?
hero_x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2003, 10:52 PM   #10
Esquared
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 342
Send a message via AIM to Esquared
Default Smart clips...

Hey-

It seems to me that what you really want to investigate is smart clips. Any movie clip you have can be turned into a mart clip by right-clicking it in the library and selecting "Component Definition." This allows you to define variables that the movie clip will use, and set their defaults. The difference between these variables, though, is that they show up in the Properties panel, near where the instance name is. This allows you to hard code DIFFERENT variables for each instance of the movie clip.

In order to answer your text issue specifically, you want to make it a dynamic textbox, instead of static, and then have its variable be whatever you declared in your smart clip.

Hope that helps.

PS. Oh...if you want to be able to edit the code on a smart clip and have it change the code on ALL of those smart clips on the stage, you have to embed it in another movie clip and have the script reference _parent.smartClipVariable instead...
Esquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:36 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.